Guides: Russian, East European &amp; Eurasian Studies Resources @ Pitt: REEES Articles

Key Interdisciplinary Databases for Starting Research

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopaedia Britannica is the world's most comprehensive reference product, a distinction it has held since its first publication in 1768. Through this service, you can find more than 72,000 articles, updated and revised by EB editors and contributors; over 10,000 illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and more than 75,000 definitions -- including pronunciation guides and word histories -- from Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World This link opens in a new window
A database of names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world. You can search by the name of the place, type of place, or for any word in the database.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. [Formerly titled: Academic Lexis-Nexis]
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access to over 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.

Arts & Humanities Databases

The databases below are useful when searching for Global Studies topics and articles related to arts and humanities in the REES countries. The country, theme or topic you select may affect the databases you choose. You can find additional databases by checking Databases by Subject or suggested REES Databases.

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) This link opens in a new window
The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) covers North American scholarship on East-Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union. It contains bibliographic citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications since 1990. The bibliography is currently based at the University Library of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. ABSEES is compiled under the auspices of the American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies (AAASS) and with the support of the National Endowment for the Humanities, the U.S. State Department's Title VIII program, and the International Research and Exchanges Board (IREX).
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
The Literature Resource Center is a complete literature reference database. Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content, and also provides access to Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature (EOL), which comprises over 10,000 descriptive entries for authors, works, literary landmarks, literary and critical terms, mythological and folkloric figures, fictional characters, literary movements, and prizes.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Draws its current content from more than 375 international music periodicals from over 20 countries, and also indexes feature music articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Draws its current content from more than 130 international performing arts periodicals from 9 countries, and also indexes feature performing arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post.

Quick Links

Use these quick links to access lists of related databases, the listing of e-journals, or to access library services from off-campus.

Russian and Eastern European Studies Database
List of Global Studies and GSPIA (International Affairs) Databases
List of News and Current Events Databases
List of Economics Databases
List of Business Databases
Google Scholar
Search for online books and articles in Google Scholar.
E-Journals
Browse the A-Z list of electronic journals available at the University of Pittsburgh or search for a title and click the link to access it.
Off Campus Access
Access to full-text library resources from off-campus is easy!

Search as you normally do, click on the link to full-text, log in with your Pitt email login and password, and you're good to go for your entire searching session! Access will work best if you stay in the same browser.

Socioeconomic, Political, and International Affairs Databases

The databases below provide articles about cultural, social, economic, and political issues related to REES countries. The country, theme or topic you select may affect the databases you choose. You can find additional databases by checking Databases by Subject or suggested REES Databases.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This definitive scholarly business database (with citations back to 1886) covers all aspects of business and management - from economics and finance to accounting and human resources. Includes Datamonitor reports, financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
CountryWatch provides up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world, as well as a political and economic survey for each of the country. Good source for the latest political, economic, corporate, and environmental news on a country as it occurs.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
HRAF is an acronym for Human Relations Area Files, a non-profit institution founded in 1949 at Yale University. HRAF is a consortium of educational, research, and cultural organizations, and government agencies. This database indexes its collection of ethnography by culture and subject.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including business, education, literature, the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, and some books.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts is your complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects include socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD material covers economic and social issues from macroeconomics, to trade, education, development, and science and innovation. OECD iLibrary comprises 20 Book collections by theme, containing ALL OECD monographs and reports published since 1998 (over 1500 titles), 24 periodicals, and the OECD statistical databases.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
PAIS contains over half a million records on political, social, public policy issues from 1915 to date including journal articles, books, government documents, and publications from international agencies. Publications from over 120 countries are represented in this database.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
PolicyFile provides comprehensive coverage on nearly all public policy issues, including nuclear proliferation, trade, and terrorism. PolicyFile draws content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, and research organizations.
Statesman's Yearbook Online This link opens in a new window
This database is a dictionary of entries on world leaders, cities, and institutions. It includes SOME city data and profiles, lots of country info, statistics and narrative (Tokyo, Bombay, Chicago…).
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database, published by ABC-CLIO, provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy.

News Databases

Universal Database of Russian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The EastView database includes searchable full text articles from over 30 currently published Russian newspapers.

Government and UN Related Databases

These databases, produced by the U.S. government and the United Nations, provide a wealth of information about Russia and REES countries including statistical information.

AccessUN (1945 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Access UN provides access to documents and publications of the United Nations, including bilateral and multilateral treaties.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
This database contains declassified government information on a variety of subjects including Russia, USSR, Iran, Iraq, Afghanistan, nuclear non-proliferation, and terrorism.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) This link opens in a new window
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) is a collection of English-language transcriptions of media content from around the world collected by the United States' intelligence community between 1941-1996, including extensive information on Russia and the former USSR countries from the 1970s and 1980s.
United Nations Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Primary index to United Nations documentation published since 1979 (or earlier for selected major documents) and indexed by the Dag Hammarskjold Library or the Library of the UN Office in Geneva. It includes the catalogue of the non-UN collections of both libraries and also provides access to detailed voting records of resolutions adopted by the General Assembly and the Security Council.
United Nations Official Document System (ODS) This link opens in a new window
The United Nations Official Document System (ODS) supplies copies of documents published by the United Nations. Full text is available for all documents published since 1993 and select documents published from 1946-1993.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is often helpful for finding scholarly articles on your topic.

If you are on-campus, you will be able to view articles located in databases leased by the university. If you are off-campus, you may need to access the articles through remote access. See the instructions for connecting from off-campus on the ULS homepage.

Suggested Journals

Some of the more frequently cited scholarly journals related to Global Studies topics and REES countries are linked below.

Australian Slavonic and East European Studies
Cultural Geographies
East European Politics and Societies
East European Quarterly
European Urban and Regional Studies
International Journal of Urban and Regional Research
Journal for East European Management Studies
Journal of Urban Affairs
Pravda (Moscow, Russia)
Region: Regional Studies of Russia, Eastern Europe, and Central Asia
Russia This Week (IntelliNews)
Russian and East European Studies
Slavic & East European Information Resources
Slavic and East European Journal
Slavic and East European Performance
South East European Journal of Economics and Business
Urban Studies
Urban World
Zavtra (Moscow, Russia)

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Russian, East European & Eurasian Studies Resources @ Pitt: REEES Articles