Guides: Russian, East European &amp; Eurasian Studies Resources @ Pitt: Books

Request Material in PittCat

You can request material through PittCat using Get It, even for material that we do not own. You must be signed in and then click on the item you need. Options within the item:

Request This Item
Use this to request print materials from a Pitt library or ULS - Thomas Blvd. After finding a book, click on the item, then look for Get It, Request, and follow the prompts.
Request a Scan
Use this to request a scanned book chapter or an article. After finding an article or to request a book chapter, click on the item, then look for Get It, Request, and follow the prompts.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
If you identify an item in PittCat that is not available through our collections, you can request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

If you have any questions about this, please contact us so we can work with you to try and get the material you need.

National Bibliographies of the Former Soviet Union and Eastern Europe

The attached 13 page pdf includes titles that are the official organs of bibliographic control for the countries concerned as well as important historical and retrospectibe bibliographies. All titles are held by the University of Pittsburgh in Hillman Library or our storage facility.

For more complete coverage of other relevant publications, including more detailed explanatory annotations for the items below, see the National Bibliographies page on the University of Illinois's Slavic Reference Service website at:

http://www.library.illinois.edu/spx/webct/nationalbib/natbib2.html

National Bibliographies Handout

Key Books

Central and East European Politics by Sharon L. Wolchik and Jane L. Curry (Editors)
Publication Date: 2011
Explores the problems and potential these countries bring to the European region, the EU, and to the world stage. Provides up-to-date analysis of the transformations and realities in Central and Eastern Europe, the Baltics, and Ukraine, utilizes comparative country case studies as well as thematic chapters on key issues, including EU and NATO expansion, the economic transition and its social ramifications, the role of women, persistent problems of migration,ethnicity and nationalism, and political reform.
The Cambridge Companion to Modern Russian Culture by Nicholas Rzhevsky (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
Because of Russia's size, the diversity of its peoples and its unique geographical position straddling East and West have created a culture that is both inward and outward looking. This book examines Russian cultural identity, its Western and Asian connections, popular culture and the unique Russian contributions to the arts.
Europe, Nations and Modernity by Atsuko Ichijo (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011
Examines modernity and "What is Europe?" and "What is it to be European?," through the use of nine case studies.
Media, Nationalism and European Identities by Miklós Sükösd (Editor); Karol Jakubowicz (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
Explores patterns of interaction between the mass media and identity formation in the context of Europeanization; examines media impacts on four levels of identity: European, regional, national, and ethnic minority identities; and analyses the structural transformation of European media institutions, and the policies that shape the future of European media. .
Cold War Cultures by Annette Vowinckel (Editor); Marcus M. Pavk (Editor); Thomas Lindenberger (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
Examines Cold War conflicting world views and imperial ambitions of the super powers, their military strategies, and antagonistic ideologies - as well as their impact on everyday life. Explores "Cold War Culture” in a broad sense by describing media influences, social practices, and symbolic representations as they shape, and are shaped by, international relations.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Russian, East European & Eurasian Studies Resources @ Pitt: Books

Request Material in PittCat

National Bibliographies of the Former Soviet Union and Eastern Europe

Key Books