Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Archive of European Integration Resources
General Czech Republic Resources
This links to the archives of Ceska Literatura, a Prague-based quarterly published by the Institute for Czech Literature of the Czech Academy of Sciences. The journals are from 1953-1998 and are in Czech. It is offered through their digitized archive of journals which offers many more titles.
Czech and Slovak History: An Annotated Bibliography
This links to the electronic version of Czech and Slovak History: An American Bibliography by George J. Kovtun. It is offered through the Library of Congress website and contains more than 5,000 entires on resources dealing with Czech and Slovak history.
Czech and Slovak Literature Resources
Offers Czech and Slovak language and literature resources, including a short bibliography and several links to English-Czech-English dictionaries and translators. Also has links to news sources in English, Czech, and Slovak, as well as to radio and TV stations broadcasting Czech or Slovak material on the internet.
Czech Electronic Library
Database of Czech poetry from the 19th and 20th centuries, offered by the Institute of Czech Literature from the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic. Access is free. In Czech.
Czech Literature Portal
A multilingual site to promote Czech literature abroad, includes a list of links to various sites on Czech literature and authors. In English and Czech.
National Library of the Czech Republic
The National Library's collection includes over 6.5 million volumes and yearly, it acquires about 80 thousand of new titles. Site includes access to catalog and some digital collections. In Czech and English.
Neviditelny Pes (Invisible Dog) was the first purely Czech internet newspaper and deals with Czech and international affairs as well as Czech literature and culture. In Czech.
Czech Republic News Resources
One of the top selling daily newspapers in the Czech Republic. The newspaper is published in Prague.
Daily broadsheet newspaper published in the Czech Republic. Founded in 1893, Lidové noviny is the oldest Czech daily newspaper.
The Prague Post
The Prague Post is the Czech Republic's leading English-language newspaper.
Curator for Slavic, European, and Global Studies
Czech Republic Government Sites
National Bibliographies of the Former Soviet Union and Eastern Europe
The attached 13 page pdf includes titles that are the official organs of bibliographic control for the countries concerned as well as important historical and retrospectibe bibliographies. All titles are held by the University of Pittsburgh in Hillman Library or our storage facility.
For more complete coverage of other relevant publications, including more detailed explanatory annotations for the items below, see the National Bibliographies page on the University of Illinois's Slavic Reference Service website at: