Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Russia News Resources
TASS Russian News Agency
One of the largest Russian information agencies. Successor to the leading Soviet news agency TASS. In Russian and English.
Liberal newspaper known for its investigative journalism. In English.
PRIME Business News Agency
Leading business-news agency in Russia. In English.
State-run news agency, replaced the RIA Novosti news agency in 2014. In English.
Russia Today is a comprehensive, online daily news source complete with travel and cultural listings, financial reports, and in-depth Google-like index and search engine. Weather in Russia is constantly updated, as are lead stories. In English.
Russia Beyond the Headlines
English version of state owned Rossiyskaya Gazeta newspaper.
The Moscow Times
Daily English-language newspaper.
Archive of European Integration Resources
General Russia Resources
Alfavitnyi katalog gazet i zhurnalov na russkom iazyke
(Alphabetical index of newspapers and magazines in Russian.) Site gives links and limited information access for a huge number of Russian newspapers and periodicals. Listed alphabetically, each is accompanied by an icon indicating the level of access necessary to view the periodical: free, partially free, pay, and inaccessible. In Russian only.
Amherst Center for Russian Culture
The ACRC is a large collection of archives, chiefly dealing with emigre literature during the post-Revolution diaspora. It includes the archives of luminaries like Zinadia Gippius and Andrei Remizov, as well as other lesser-known figures.
ArcheoBiblioBase: Archives in Russia
Presents updated major sections of the ArcheoBiblioBase directory and bibliographic information system for archival repositories in the Russian Federation. Includes a number of significant finding aids to many of the archives as well as other information on their holdings, location, and access. Gives comparable links to sites in Belarus, Ukraine, and other areas. In English.
Arkhivy Rossii - Archives of Russia
An online guide to national, regional, and city archives in the Russian Federation. It also includes the archives of various museums and libraries. In Russian.
The Bakhtin Centre - The University of Sheffield
The Bakhtin Centre, through the University of Sheffield, was established by the New Academic Developments Fun, Humanities Research Institute, and Department of Russian and Slavonic studies. Their purpose is to promote multi- and inter-disciplinary research on the work of the Russian philosopher and theorist Mikhail Bakhtin and the Bakhtin Circle, and on related areas of cultural, critical, linguistic and literary theory. In English.
Documents in Russian History
Documents in Russian History is an online repository of primary documents intended mainly for use in teaching. All of the documents are either original translations or are, as far as we can determine, in the public domain. Permission is granted to use the documents for non-commercial purpose under a Creative Commons license. In English.
EServer.org: Accessible Writing
CMU's EServer has a large number of documents on Russian and East European history, both source materials as well as analyses. Most are stored in the history directory. In the same directory, there is a subdirectory on Trotsky and the anti-Fascist movement. Elsewhere on this server, users will find a whole directory devoted to Marx and Engels, with many original source documents availabe online. In English.
FEB-web: The Fundamental Digital Library of Russian Literature & Folklore
A full-text digital resource, FEB-web accumulates information in text, audio, visual, and other forms on 11th-20th-century Russian literature, Russian folklore, and the history of Russian literary scholarship and folklore studies. In English. Last updated 2007.
H-Russia is a moderated discussion list devoted to Russian history. The link to subscribe can be found on the left-hand sidebar. Previous discussions and book reviews can also be viewed on the site.
Select bibliography for sources on Imperial Russia.
Integrum World Wide
Fee-based database aggregator, providing access to over 1300 databases, each of which is updated frequently. Free trial searches are provided with limited access to retrieved articles. Media monitoring services are also available for a fee. Subscription may be required for many services. Site is in English.
Kinoeye Resources on Russian film
This links to Kinoeye's page on resources relating to Russian film. Kinoeye is a website that seeks to explore non-mainstream European film.
KinoKultura: New Russian Cinema
KinoKultura, a journal of Russian film studies. Published four times a year, it offers articles, news, and reviews of Russian cinema. Site is mostly in English.
Leeds Russian Archive
Site of the Leeds Russian Archive (LRA), housed at Leeds University. Comprised of some 500 collections of manuscripts, photographs, and other archival material, a number of printed books, which document Russian history, literature, and culture, and Anglo-Russian contacts from the 19th and 20th centuries. A catalog of the archive is available, which may be searched by keyword or browsed by collection.
The Museum of Russian Art
The only North American museum of its kind, The Museum of Russian Art (TMORA), is a member-supported nonprofit organization dedicated to the preservation and presentation of all forms of Russian art and artifacts. Exhibitions showcase extraordinary works of art seldom displayed in the United States, many of which are on the website in digital exhibitions.
National Library of Russia
Homepage of the National Library, features many virtual exhibits, access to the catalogs, and some items available for download. In English.
Revelations from the Russian Archives
The Library of Congress' Revelations from the Russian Archives contains over 30 directories with documents covering such topics as the Cold War, Collectivization, Chernobyl, stalin, Perestroika, the KGB, Kulaks, Kirov Murders, dissidents, WWII, the Ukrainian Famine, and others.
Encyclopedic portal, containing full-text electronic versions of the 30-volume Great Soviet Encyclopedia, 6-volume Concise Medical Encylopedia, Illustrated Encyclopedic Dictionary, and many others. Hundreds of thousands articles, tens of thousands illustrations and maps. In English only.
Russian Archives Online
Gathers Russian archival collections of photographs and films, audio, clips and transcripts from the 15 republics of the former Soviet Union, including Russia, Ukraine, Georgia and many more. All archives are free for public viewing. In English.
Nearly 20,000 stories from the Russian Journal, an English-language weekly newspaper, published from 1998-2005.
Russian Virtual Library
Offers an eclectic mix of Russian literary texts (both prose and poetry) from various periods in electronic form. Authors include selections from Pushkin's collected works, Homer, Batiushkov, Belyi, Khlebnikov, and others. In Russian.
Russian writer I.S. Turgenev
Reduced English version of the Russian site http://www.turgenev.org.ru/, which seeks to "collect all the information about Russian writer Ivan Sergeevich Turgenev in one place." Includes photographs, links, bio, as well as a selection of his works.
Vavilon is an anthology of contemporary Russian literature, poetry in particular. Included is a review of all Moscow's literary events and many internet versions of Russian literary almanacs (Vavilon, Mitin zhurnal, Chernovik, etc.). In Russian.
Curator for Slavic, European, and Global Studies
National Bibliographies of the Former Soviet Union and Eastern Europe
The attached 13 page pdf includes titles that are the official organs of bibliographic control for the countries concerned as well as important historical and retrospectibe bibliographies. All titles are held by the University of Pittsburgh in Hillman Library or our storage facility.
For more complete coverage of other relevant publications, including more detailed explanatory annotations for the items below, see the National Bibliographies page on the University of Illinois's Slavic Reference Service website at: