Guides: Russian, East European &amp; Eurasian Studies Resources @ Pitt: Statistics

City Information

Most city data (statistics) has to come from offical government websites of the city or country or from statistical abstracts and handbooks of the individual country. Most international organizations and databases generally provide only country level data. Encyclopedias like the Encyclopedia Britannica Online are useful for descriptions of cities and their statistics.

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopaedia Britannica is the world's most comprehensive reference product, a distinction it has held since its first publication in 1768. Through this service, you can find more than 72,000 articles, updated and revised by EB editors and contributors; over 10,000 illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and more than 75,000 definitions -- including pronunciation guides and word histories -- from Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

Country Information

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Country Watch
Provides up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world.; includes some statistics and very good Country Reviews.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) This link opens in a new window
EIU provides data and forecasts about political, economic, and business climates of various regions and up to 200 countries, as well as related news, analysis, and risk factor assessments. Coverage includes online versions of the Country Commerce, Country Finance, the Business Briefings series. Includes access to EIU Viewpoint that provides Global, regional and country-level analysis for nearly 200
markets.
Europa World This link opens in a new window
Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. The database includes detailed surveys of over 250 countries and territories, a comprehensive listing of over 1,650 international organizations, access to the very latest statistics, directory information and current analysis.

Eurostat
The European Union collects a large number of statistics about its member countries.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics. The OECD consists of 30 member countries sharing a commitment to democratic government and the market economy. With active relationships with some 70 other countries, NGOs and civil society, it has a global reach. Best known for its publications and its statistics, its work covers economic and social issues.
Statesman's Yearbook Online This link opens in a new window
This database is a dictionary of entries on world leaders, cities, and institutions. It includes SOME city data and profiles, (Tokyo, Bombay, Chicago…) lots of country info, statistics, and narrative. Archival online yearbooks back to 1864. Paper copy in Hillman reference JA51 S79

U.S. Department of State
Information on current U.S. policy issues, and well as specific country information. Country profiles can be found by typing "Background Notes" in the search box

International Data Databases

These are selected sources for international data.

UNdata This link opens in a new window
Find international statistics collected by the United Nations and related organizations. Searches over 60 million UN data records.

American Sources of Data

These are selected resources for national data.

Best US sources to start with:

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Since 1878 this authoritative and comprehensive annual summary and sourcebook of U.S. statistics has complied demographic, social, political, and economic statistical information. It also serves as a guide to sources of more detailed information both in print and on the Web. Data sources include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. Includes some international coverage.

Economagic
Access to over 400,000 data sets of federal and state level (some city/SMA) time series data sets. US data sets from the Census, Commerce, Energy, Federal Reserve, Labor, and Treasury departments. Also includes LIBOR, Australia, Japan and the Central Bank of Europe.
FedStats
Provides easy access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know which Federal agency produces it. Links to over 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and much more.

govinfo This link opens in a new window
FDSYS provides free online access to information published by the US federal government through the US Government Printing Office (GPO), formerly known as GPO Access.

Additional US sources:

General Social Survey (GSS)
Provides information on societal trends in the US and compares the US to other countries.

Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Statistical Insight (Lexis-Nexis) provides online access to three important statistical indexes: the American Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI), and the Index to International Statistics (IIS).The service allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical (Lexis-Nexis) and government Web sites.

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States.

Guide to Finding International Statistics

When researching international statistics it is helpful to know what kind of statistics you need and what organizations collect that data.

For a single country (or city data) check the country's statistical abstract. When comparing multiple countries, it is best to get all similar data from the same source. Use the PDF's table to determine who collects the type of data you need.

Guide to Finding international Statistics at Pitt

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is often helpful for finding articles on your city. Some articles will contain statistical content.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Russian, East European & Eurasian Studies Resources @ Pitt: Statistics