Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Archive of European Integration Resources
General Poland Resources
Alliance College Polish Collection
Collection owned by Pitt. Material is primarily in Polish, and is particularly strong in Polish language and literature, history, and the Polish experience in the United States. Also included are such additional subject areas as Polish music, art, folklore, science, economics, sociology, government, and foreign relations.
This is the homepage of Dr. Peter Bogucki of Princeton. He has published a number of works on early farming societies in Europe (ca.6000-3000 BC) based on archaeological work in Poland. The homepage has access to some of his articles as well as information on his research projects.
Polish Writing is devoted to translations of Polish literature into English. Site contains an online searchable database of translations of Polish texts and extracts by contemporary authors. In English.
The Sarmatian Review is a triannual journal of Central European culture, with an emphasis on Polish culture. The journal includes peer-reviewed articles, translations, and reviews.
Staropolska - Old Polish Literature - English Translations
Links to a truncated site of an e-library of old Polish literature from the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and the Baroque periods. In English. Full version of the site available in Polish.
The National Library
The National Library acts as the central library of the state and one of the most important cultural institutions in Poland. Features digital resources, including access to CBN Polona, The National Digital Library. In Polish and English.
The Polish Institute of Art and Sciences of America
The Archival Information Center for the Polish Institute of Arts and Sciences of America has a vast amount of archival materials on Polish history and the history of Poles in America. Has links to databases to access the collection. In the future, will have finding aids and more of the collection digitally accessible. In English.
Univ. of Pittsburgh: Polish Language Website
Based at the University of Pittsburgh, this website is dedicated to the teaching of the Polish language over the internet. Offers access to the First Year Polish textbook, A Learner's Polish-English Dictionary, and A Grammar to Contemporary Polish, all by Oscar Swan, among other materials for students.
A comprehensive Yahoo!-like Polish search engine search/directory. In Polish.
Poland News Resources
Thenews.pl: News from Poland
Offers daily coverage of domestic and foreign affairs, economy and business, culture, sport, and entertainment. Part of the Polskie Radio stable of web sites. In Polish and English.
Warsaw Business Journal
Offers daily news and business industry information from Poland. WBJ has been covering Polish business news in English since 1993. Log-in/subscription is not required but extends resources available. Past issues are archived and available online for subscribers. In English.
The Warsaw Voice
A general-interest English-language newspaper, the Warsaw Voice offers weekly material on news, business, travel, and entertainment stories. In English.
Polish Press Agency
News agency with daily updates, delivering accurate and comprehensive news to leading media outlets, government and financial institutions, investors and entrepreneurs in and outside of Poland. In English and Polish.
Curator for Slavic, European, and Global Studies
National Bibliographies of the Former Soviet Union and Eastern Europe
The attached 13 page pdf includes titles that are the official organs of bibliographic control for the countries concerned as well as important historical and retrospectibe bibliographies. All titles are held by the University of Pittsburgh in Hillman Library or our storage facility.
For more complete coverage of other relevant publications, including more detailed explanatory annotations for the items below, see the National Bibliographies page on the University of Illinois's Slavic Reference Service website at: