Guides: Business Databases: Key Resources

Guides contain tips and links to resources. They can help you start researching.

Databases are online resources with specific types of info, like industry reports.

The business librarian will help when you're feeling confused or unsure. Contact me!

Business Databases

Best Bets

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides business profiles and 15 years of financial information. It includes the D&B Private Company Database and contains Equity Reports.

Also Helpful

CB Insights This link opens in a new window
First time users will need to create an account with their Pitt email address using the sign-up link on the database landing page. For questions about this resource or the signup process, please contact ULS-BizRef@pitt.edu

CB Insights is a market intelligence platform that provides data-driven insights and research on startups, venture capital, and corporate innovation. It uses artificial intelligence and machine learning to analyze millions of data points on companies, investors, and industries, providing comprehensive information on technology trends, market opportunities, and funding deals. CB Insights helps organizations to stay ahead of the curve, track their competitors, and make informed business decisions.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. [Formerly titled: Academic Lexis-Nexis]
Statista This link opens in a new window
TRIAL PERIOD: Offers market and consumer data across a variety of topics in the form of statistics, dossiers, and infographics as well as a global consumer behavior survey.
Investext This link opens in a new window
Includes a variety of analyst reports from groups like JP Morgan and Deutsche Bank.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, and various reports including SWOT analyses and country reports for all business disciplines.
Mergent's Events Data This link opens in a new window
Has continually updated information on stock-splits, mergers, tender offers, partial/full calls, name changes, etc. Set up customized portfolio alerts & reports.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Formerly Mergent Web Reports, Mergent Archives contains Moody's/Mergent Corporate Manuals and Municipal & Government Manuals from 1909 to the present, Ford Equity Research Reports, Annual Reports from as early as 1925, and detailed Industry Reports.
Uniworld This link opens in a new window
Use Uniworld when you are looking for U.S. companies operating in foreign countries or foreign countries with operations in the United States.
Mergent BondViewer This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search for data on corporate and municipal bonds. Limit of 10 simultaneous users.

Best Bets

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides trusted industry research on thousands of industries worldwide. Current subscription includes 700+ US Industry Reports (NAICS), 70+ Global Industry Reports, Specialized Industry Reports, 280+ China Industry Reports, State Industry Reports, State Economic Profiles, Local Data Tool, Trade Exposure, Segment Benchmarking, and an Inflation Tracker Tool.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology worldwide.
First Research This link opens in a new window
First Research provides profiles for industry segments and geographic profiles. Each industry profile is updated with monthly statistics and quarterly trends.

Also Helpful

Marketscope Advisor This link opens in a new window
CFRA MarketScope Advisor provides access to extensive market commentary, independent investment analysis, up-to-date news and data on a broad range of asset classes. It includes Stock and Fund Reports and Industry Surveys (formerly called S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys).
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, and various reports including SWOT analyses and country reports for all business disciplines.
Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry; provides a continuously updated resource featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry. Previously called SBRnet.
Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Access to several popular business, library, media, organization, and statistical directories.
Investext This link opens in a new window
Includes a variety of analyst reports from groups like JP Morgan and Deutsche Bank.
Mergent's Key Business Ratios (KBR) This link opens in a new window
Key Business Ratios (KBR) provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is mainly an interactive map of demographic information drawn from the US Census. Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. Note: Creation of a Personal Account is required to fully access all Social Explorer features.
RKMA Market Research Reports This link opens in a new window
Market research reports on a variety of topics.

Marketscope Advisor This link opens in a new window
CFRA MarketScope Advisor provides access to extensive market commentary, independent investment analysis, up-to-date news and data on a broad range of asset classes. It includes Stock and Fund Reports and Industry Surveys (formerly called S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys).
Value Line This link opens in a new window
Value Line provides investment information, including access to Value Line's publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options, and convertible securities, as well as special situation stocks.
VitalLaw This link opens in a new window
The CCH Internet Tax Research Network provides tax news as well as federal and state tax information. Federal Tax Archives are available for all years since 1978; State Tax Archives are available for all years since 1994.
Create a free account to log in.
Mergent BondViewer This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search for data on corporate and municipal bonds. Limit of 10 simultaneous users.
International Financial Statistics Online This link opens in a new window
The IFS database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages.
Mergent's Key Business Ratios (KBR) This link opens in a new window
Key Business Rations (KBR) provides online access to competitive benchmarking data.
Investext This link opens in a new window
Includes a variety of analyst reports from groups like JP Morgan and Deutsche Bank.
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Also known as S&P Capital IQ or Standard and Poor’s Capital IQ.
Capital IQ contains detailed financial information about companies and industries. You can screen for companies and create lists.
NOTE: Please review the FAQ for information on terminal/workstation access in the library and individual accounts.

Bloomberg Terminal
Bloomberg provides a host of current and historical financial information in the US and around the world.
NOTE: Access is restricted to specific machines in the Finance Lab, Mervis 201.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) This link opens in a new window
EIU provides data and forecasts about political, economic, and business climates of various regions and up to 200 countries, as well as related news, analysis, and risk factor assessments. Coverage includes online versions of the Country Commerce, Country Finance, the Business Briefings series. Includes access to EIU Viewpoint that provides Global, regional and country-level analysis for nearly 200
markets.
International Financial Statistics Online This link opens in a new window
The IFS database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages.
Uniworld This link opens in a new window
Use Uniworld when you are looking for U.S. companies operating in foreign countries or foreign countries with operations in the United States.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
CountryWatch provides up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world.

Trade, Magazine, and Journal Articles

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides scholarly journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, and various reports including SWOT analyses, country reports, and industry profiles covering all aspects of business.
Conference Board This link opens in a new window
The Conference Board conducts research, convenes conferences, makes forecasts, assesses trends, and publishes information and analysis about business topics.
Use the Business Management Research and Economic Research tabs to access the content.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconList is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world’s economic literature produced by the American Economic Association.

Newspaper Articles

Wall Street Journal (Current) This link opens in a new window
National Newspapers via ProQuest provides current full text access to some popular publications like Christian Science Monitor and the New York Times.
National Newspapers (Current) (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
National Newspapers via ProQuest provides current full text access to some popular publications like Christian Science Monitor and the New York Times.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 50 sources and 67 periodicals indexed and abstracted.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. [Formerly titled: Academic Lexis-Nexis]
Wall Street Journal (Historical) This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal from 1889-2000 with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images.

Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary database that contains a wide variety of statistical information.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Contains tables and maps of demographic information from the US Census.
International Financial Statistics Online This link opens in a new window
The IFS database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Presents mainly US census data for the nation as a whole, such as immigration statistics by country of origin or mortality rates by disease, ranging back to the 1800s.

For additional sources of data and statistics on your topic, contact the business librarian.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier contains articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, and more in most academic areas of study.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides indexing coverage of journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports in the general field of Psychology.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Business Librarian

Email the business librarians.

We can provide assistance via email or make an appointment to meet in person or virtually.

At a Regional Campus?

Contact your regional library for help.

Bradford Campus
Kimberly Bailey, hanold@pitt.edu
Greensburg Campus
Kelly Safin, kab309@pitt.edu
Johnstown Campus
David Kupas, dmk24@pitt.edu
Titusville Campus
Marc Ross, marcross@pitt.edu

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Business Databases: Key Resources

[Here's how this site works.]

Business Guides

Business Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Business Librarian

At a Regional Campus?