Date of Exhibition: Summer 2022- Fall 2023
Curator/Curadora: Martha E. Mantilla, Librarian for Latin American Studies and the Eduardo Lozano Collection/ Martha E. Mantilla, Bibliotecaria de Estudios Latinoamericanos y la Colección Eduardo Lozano
Location: Archives & Special Collections exhibit gallery, 3rd floor Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh 3960 Forbes Avenue Pittsburgh, PA 15260
Description/Descripción: A poet of social protest and the leader of the Afro-Cuban/Afro-Antillean movement throughout the 1920s and 1930s, Nicolás Guillén (1902-1989) is known as the National Poet of Cuba. An agent for social change and a champion of Afro-Cuban people and culture, his work has been translated into more than twenty languages. Of mixed African and Spanish descent, he combined a knowledge of traditional literary form with firsthand experience of the speech, legends, and songs of his native land. Recognized as the most influential Latin American poet, he traveled widely visiting Venezuela (1945), Haiti (1949), Colombia, Peru, Chile (1946), Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay (1947), Angola (1978), Soviet Union (1960). All materials on display are from the Alberto Britos Serrat Scrapbook on Nicolás Guillén Visit to Uruguay, SC.2021.12, Archives & Special Collections, University of Pittsburgh. The collection is in Spanish and fully digitized.
Poeta de la protesta social y líder del movimiento afrocubano/afroantillano durante las décadas de 1920 y 1930, Nicolás Guillén (1902-1989) es conocido como el Poeta Nacional de Cuba. Agente de cambio social y paladín del pueblo y la cultura afrocubana, su obra ha sido traducida a más de veinte idiomas. De ascendencia mixta africana y española, combinó el conocimiento de la forma literaria tradicional con la experiencia de primera mano del habla, las leyendas y las canciones de su tierra natal. Reconocido como el poeta latinoamericano más influyente, viajó mucho visitando Venezuela (1945), Haití (1949), Colombia, Perú, Chile (1946), Argentina, Brasil, Uruguay (1947), Angola (1978), Unión Soviética (1960). Todos los materiales expuestos pertenecen al Álbum de recortes de Alberto Britos Serrat sobre la visita de Nicolás Guillén a Uruguay, SC.2021.12, Archives & Special Collections, University of Pittsburgh. La colección está en español y totalmente digitalizada.
