Guides: Archives & Special Collections Exhibits: Selections from the George A. Romero Archival Collection (Fall 2020- Present)

Selections from the George A. Romero Archival Collection

Date of Exhibition: Fall 2020- Present

Curator: Ben Rubin (Horror Studies Collection Coordinator)

Location: Archives & Special Collections exhibit gallery, 3rd floor Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh 3960 Forbes Avenue Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Description: Selections from the George A. Romero Archival Collection features props, publicity, and production materials from across the career of George A. Romero, an independent horror filmmaker best known for Night of the Living Dead.  Materials document both some of his most famous films as well as unrealized projects.

Accolades; 1985-2018
Ella, monkey prop from Monkey Shines; 1988
Latex Zombie Head
Day of the Dead Newspaper; 1985
The Dark Half Props; 1991
Pet Sematary Storyboards; 1985
Masks from Bruiser; 2000
Book of the Dead; 1989
Land of the Dead Materials; 2005
Early promotional material related to Knightriders, under the working title Knights; 1981
The Footage or Bigfoot; 1976
Unfilmed Creepshow 2 Story
Resident Evil; 1998

Guide to the George A. Romero Archival Collection, 1962-2017, SC.2019.03
George Andrew Romero (1940-2017) was an American filmmaker and author, best known for horror films produced in Pittsburgh and the surrounding areas. Romero wrote and directed feature films, television, industrial films, and commercials. He also wrote comic books, a children's book, short stories, and a novel. The collection documents his career as a filmmaker and writer, with manuscripts and production materials for both produced and unproduced projects, promotional materials, press clippings, legal documents, photographs, film and video, and correspondence.
Documenting Pitt
The University Archives documents the history and traditions of the University of Pittsburgh community, from its founding as the Pittsburgh Academy in 1787, through its re-chartering as the Western University of Pennsylvania, to the present. Documenting Pitt provides access to a sampling of these records detailing the administrative, academic and athletic pursuits and achievements of the University community which are a testament of what it means to be a Panther.

Horror Film Genre @ Pitt
by Robin Kear Last Updated Apr 28, 2021 153 views this year

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Archives & Special Collections Exhibits

Selections from the George A. Romero Archival Collection

Exhibit Photographs