Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Archives & Special Collections Exhibits

Guide on Past and Current Archives & Special Collections Exhibits @ the University of Pittsburgh Library System - Oakland (2020-present)

Curtis Theatre Collection Highlights

Date of Exhibition: Fall 2020- Present

Curator: William Daw (Curator of the Curtis Theatre Collection) and Megan Massanelli (Archives & Special Collections Engagement and Outreach Librarian)

Location: Archives & Special Collections exhibit gallery, 3rd floor Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh 3960 Forbes Avenue Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Description: Curtis Theatre Collection Highlights showcases materials relating to the history of the performing arts in Pittsburgh from the Curtis Theatre Collection.  Of particular note are items related to the Kuntu Repertory Theatre and other Pittsburgh Black performing arts groups.

  • Alvin Theatre souvenir program- La Belle Helene; 1891
  • Stanley Theatre souvenir program; 1928
  • Kelly stayhorm Theater flyer- Pittsburgh; 2019
  • Curtis Collection Scrapbooks; 1855-1919
  • Nixon Theatre advertising- Lady Wiindermere's Fan; 1948
  • Nixon Theatre advertising- Summer season fan; 1928
  • Nixon theatre materials; 1928-1950
  • Nixon Theatre Program- Diamond Lil; 1950
  • Nixon Theatre photo- Theatre exterior;1950
  • Kuntu Repertory Theatre Logo; Walt Sims, Designer
  • Photograph of Dr. Vernell Lillie (1931-2020) and Rob Penny (1941-2003); Jason Blaney, photographer; 1994
  • Constitution and by-laws of the Kuntu Repertory, first page; 1974
  • Early group photograph of Kuntu Repertory Theatre members and friends; 1976
  • "Ritual of Damballs(h)" choreography and solo by Bob Johnson; May 23, 1970
  • Photographs from Kuntu's Production of Who Loves the Dancer by Rob Penny; 1985
  • Performance programs; 1973-2015

Exhibit Photographs