Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Archives & Special Collections Exhibits

Guide on Past and Current Archives & Special Collections Exhibits @ the University of Pittsburgh Library System - Oakland (2020-present)

Revolutionary Print Media of Latin America: Global South Solidarity, 1920-1970

Date of Exhibition: Fall 2022- Present

Curator: Diana Flatto (PhD student, History of Art & Architecture, University of Pittsburgh) 

Location: Archives & Special Collections exhibit gallery, 3rd floor Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh 3960 Forbes Avenue Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Description: This exhibition examines revolutionary political movements during a period in which artists and writers increasingly promoted cultural and political ideas in print media. Latin American culture magazines, poster portfolios, and catalogues from ULS collections demonstrate how artists and intellectuals articulated their commitments to revolutionary politics and built support for these efforts. Taking advantage of the mobility and exchange of printed materials via the international postal system, cultural producers forged relationships across the Global South: Latin America, Africa, and Asia, in addition to those with the U.S. and Europe. 

Studies of Latin American transcontinental solidarity often focus on the 1960s. This exhibition takes an expanded view, tracing the roots of these movements from initial anti-imperialist rhetoric and coverage of revolution in China in the 1920s to support of African independence movements and protest of interventionism in the 1960s. This selection of imagery and texts reveals the ways in which Latin American artists played an integral role in the development of revolutionary thought and connections with their peers in Asia and Africa. Though not a comprehensive survey, the objects in the exhibition illustrate how decolonial thinking developed over fifty years of print media and present opportunities for additional research. 

 

Esta exposición examina los movimientos políticos revolucionarios durante un período en el que los artistas y escritores promovieron cada vez más las ideas culturales y políticas en los medios impresos. Las revistas de cultura Latinoamericana, los portafolios de carteles y los catálogos del Sistema de Bibliotecas Universitarias en las colecciones de Pitt demuestran cómo los artistas e intelectuales articularon sus compromisos con la política revolucionaria y construyeron apoyo para estos esfuerzos. Aprovechando la movilidad y el intercambio de materiales impresos a través del sistema postal internacional, los productores culturales forjaron relaciones en todo el Sur Global: América Latina, África y Asia, además de las de Estados Unidos y Europa.

Los estudios de la solidaridad transcontinental Latinoamericana a menudo se centran en la década de 1960. Esta exposición tiene una visión ampliada, rastreando las raíces de estos movimientos desde la retórica antiimperialista inicial y la cobertura de la revolución en China en la década de 1920 hasta el apoyo a los movimientos de independencia africanos y la protesta por el intervencionismo en la década de 1960. Esta selección de imágenes y textos revela las formas en que los artistas latinoamericanos desempeñaron un papel integral en el desarrollo del pensamiento revolucionario y las conexiones con sus pares en Asia y África. Aunque no es una encuesta exhaustiva, los objetos de la exposición ilustran cómo se desarrolló el pensamiento decolonial durante cincuenta años de medios impresos y presentan oportunidades para investigaciones adicionales.

Photographs of Exhibit