Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Archives & Special Collections Exhibits

Guide on Past and Current Archives & Special Collections Exhibits @ the University of Pittsburgh Library System - Oakland (2020-present)

Remixing the Archive: Students use Archives & Special Collections @ Pitt to Create Visual Arguments

Date of Exhibition: Fall 2020- Summer 2022

Curator: David Mash (Pitt undergraduate student in Computer Science and Music) on behalf of Dr. Jessica FitzPatrick's Projects in Digital Composition, ENGCMP 1130, Fall 2020.

Location: Digital Interactive Wall, Archives & Special Collections exhibit gallery, 3rd floor Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh 3960 Forbes Avenue Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Description: See how Pitt students use University of Pittsburgh Library & other local archives to express their thoughts on gender roles, pollution, and politics. Remixing is the art of taking existing works and altering, combining, and/or parodying them in a way that draws new meaning. This is a special form of art because the messaging of the final product goes beyond what is in any individual artist's intentions. The artist carefully bends existing media pieces and our understanding of the world into a new message, but doing so does not mean that the original items are forgotten. Rather, they work together to add layers of meaning to the new product.

Exhibit Photographs