Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Archives & Special Collections Exhibits

Guide on Past and Current Archives & Special Collections Exhibits @ the University of Pittsburgh Library System - Oakland (2020-present)

Selections from the Bebe Moore Campbell Papers

Date of Exhibition: Fall 2021- Present

Curator: Megan Massanelli (Archives & Special Collections Engagement and Outreach Librarian)

Location: Archives & Special Collections exhibit gallery, 3rd floor Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh 3960 Forbes Avenue Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Description: Bebe Moore Campbell (1950-2006) was an award-winning author, journalist, teacher and playwright whose professional works reflected the African-American experience in the United States. A native of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Campbell graduated from the University of Pittsburgh in 1971. Several of her fictional works appeared in New York Times bestsellers lists. The papers document Bebe Moore Campbell's professional life with specific focus on the creative and administrative process of publishing in the late 20th and early 21st century. Included are many drafts and revisions of her writings as well as contracts, correspondence, reviews, promotional activities and rankings of her works. 

Materials from the Bebe Moore Campbell Papers, 1956-2008, SC.2017.02

  • Author’s Notebook kept by Bebe Moore Campbell, starting in 1990 
  • “Rhumba Girl” handwritten notes on character and plot, Undated

Exhibit Photographs