Guides: Archives & Special Collections Exhibits: Japanese Theater Print Collection (Fall 2022-Present)

Japanese Theater Print Collection

Introduction
Related Materials

Date of Exhibit: Fall 2022-Present

Curator: Hiroyuki Good (Japanese Studies Librarian)

Location: Archives & Special Collections exhibit gallery, 3rd floor Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh 3960 Forbes Avenue Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Description: Noh, a theater form that originated in the fourteenth century, was historically supported by the ruling samurai class. On the other hand, Kabuki, another theater form, has been popular among common people since the seventeenth century. Many Kabuki scripts have been created based on Noh scripts. In contrast to Noh, which consists of quiet dances and chants, Kabuki captivated the public with its livelier stage and music.

Both Noh and Kabuki have been very popular themes in Japanese woodblock prints. In the Archive & Special Collection of the library, we have 1,095 prints of Japanese woodblock prints. Among these prints, we have 734 prints of Noh in the Kōgyo Collection, 116 prints of Kabuki in the Barry Rosensteel Japanese Print Collection, and 61 prints of Kabuki in the Japanese Theater Print Collection. The total number of prints related to Japanese theatre we have is 911. This exhibit shows prints that depict Noh and Kabuki based on four stories. Please see the differences between Noh and Kabuki.

Tsukioka Kōgyo, 月岡耕漁; The Art of Noh, 1869-1927| ULS Online exhibit
The University of Pittsburgh Library System (ULS) owns and curates the largest collection of Japanese color woodblock prints depicting the Noh theatre created by the artist Tsukioka Kōgyo (1869-1927) held outside of Japan. The four sets comprise Nōgaku zue 能樂圖繪, or Pictures of Noh; Nōgaku hyakuban 能楽百番, or Prints of One Hundred Noh Plays; Nōga taikan 能画大鑑, or A Great Collection of Prints of Noh Plays; and Kyōgen gojūban 狂言五十番, or Fifty Kyōgen Plays.

For each distinct set, you will find contextual essays and links to Browse & Search the prints in the ULS Digital Collections site. You can also visit our complete collection of Noh prints. This site contains 632 prints from our four sets that depict the same Noh and Kyōgen play, along with English summaries of Noh play provided by P.G. O’Neill titled A Guide to Nō. Hinoki Shoten, 1964.
Kōgyo: The Art of Noh Collection| ULS Digital Collections
Color woodblock prints by the Japanese artist Tsukioka Kōgyo (1869-1927) depict the Art of Noh through detailed portraits, landscapes and theatrical performances, taking into account some of Japan's rich history. The ULS's full collection is scanned and available online here.
Barry Rosensteel Japanese Print Collection| ULS Digital Exhibit
The Barry Rosensteel Japanese Print Collection was donated to the University of Pittsburgh Library System in 2008 by Mr. and Mrs. Barry Rosensteel. The collection consists of 300 wood block prints. While the earliest print dates to 1730, most of the prints were produced in the 1800s, while others were created in the 1900s. The work of over forty artists is represented in the collection.

The images portray Japanese culture through detailed depictions of portraits, landscapes, wildlife and theatrical performances, taking into account some of Japan’s rich history. The prints were produced with high-quality paper. Vegetative color pigments, and, in some cases, ground precious metals, were used as part of the creative process.

The images selected for digitization constitute a significant portion of the total collection. The entire collection is preserved and managed in the Archives & Special Collections of the University Library System, where all of the original prints are available for research and scholarly studies.
Barry Rosensteel Japanese Print Collection| ULS Digital Collections
more...less...
The Barry Rosensteel Japanese Print Collection contains 300 wood block prints. While the earliest print dates to 1730, most of the prints were produced in the 1800s, while others were created in the 1900s. The work of over forty artists is represented in the collection. The images selected for digitization constitute a significant portion of the total collection.

The descriptive information for the online collection includes notes on artists, series, dates, and sizes. Where this information is known it is displayed. When an item is comprised of two or more plates, each plate was scanned separately; this is indicated with the designations of the plate number followed by an a, b, c, etc.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Archives & Special Collections Exhibits

Japanese Theater Print Collection

Photographs of the Exhibit