Guides: Archives & Special Collections Exhibits: Get to the Point! Pittsburgh's Three Rivers Merge to Form Pittsburgh's Point (Spring 2020-Spring 2022)

Get to the Point! Pittsburgh's Three Rivers Merge to Form Pittsburgh's Point

Introduction
Related Guides & Collection Materials

Date of Exhibition: Spring 2020-Spring 2022

Curator: David Grinnell (Coordinator of Archives and Manuscripts)

Location: Digital Interactive Wall, Archives & Special Collections exhibit gallery, 3rd floor Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh 3960 Forbes Avenue Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Description: The converging Allegheny and Monongahela rivers form a low-lying, 225-acre triangle of land which slopes gently westward, ending in a point. Here the Ohio River begins its nearly 1000 mile long journey to its junction with the Mississippi River. This "point" and its accompanying triangular land parcel have long been a significant geographical and historical landmark in North America. They have also been the functional and symbolic heart of the City of Pittsburgh and its region.

Darlington Memorial Library
Guide to the Pittsburgh Prints from the Collection of Wesley Pickard, ca. 1843-1982 AIS.2006.03
The Pittsburgh Prints from the Collection of Wesley Pickard contains 43 prints, including lithographs, etchings, watercolors, engravings, and periodical illustrations, that primarily date between 1843 and 1898 with a few created in the 1970s and early 1980s. Subjects depicted include Pittsburgh landmarks, including bridges, downtown buildings, commercial and industrial establishments, and civic institutions that show the city before and during the period of industrial development in the nineteenth century. Digital reproductions of the collection are available online.
G.M. Hopkins Company Maps| ULS Digital Collections
Contains 46 volumes that show lot and block numbers, dimensions, street widths, names of property owners, churches, cemeteries, mills, schools, roads, railroads, lakes, ponds, rivers, and streams. All Hopkins maps produced for Pittsburgh between 1872-1940 are scanned and online.
Guide to the Pittsburgh City Photographer Collection, 1901-2000 AIS.1971.05
This collection serves as a visual documentation of the construction of streets, bridges, parks, and recreational facilities in the city of Pittsburgh as taken by members of the Department of Public Works (City Photographer). These views include building, transportation, industry, housing, and peripheral details of the history and development of Pittsburgh from the early 1900s to the early part of the twenty-first century. The focus of the City Photographer changed in the early 1970s, becoming part of the Department of Public Safety and taking police photographs in addition to continuing to take photographs for the Mayor's office and other departments. Digital reproductions of the collection are available online.
Guide to the Oliver M. Kaufmann Photograph Collection of the Irene Kaufmann Settlement, 1912-1969 AIS.1978.12
The Oliver M. Kaufmann Photograph Collection of the Irene Kaufmann Settlement contains approximately 3,000 images from the years 1912 through 1969 depicting activities at the Irene Kaufmann Settlement and the Emma Farm Camp. The Irene Kaufmann Settlement, a neighborhood social welfare agency located in the Hill District, was one of the first settlements of its kind in the United States and its highly successful programs served as models for similar institutions. Digital reproductions of selected images are available online.
Harold Corsini Photographs| ULS Digital Collections
Visual images from the 1940s-1970s show images taken by freelance photographer Corsini for local and national businesses, including US Steel, as well as images from WWII and Southeast Asia and East Africa.
Guide to the Archives of Industrial Society (AIS) General Photograph Collection, 1895-present AIS.Photos
Photographs from the Archives of Industrial Society (AIS) vertical file and smaller collections gathered under one designation.
Guide to the Joel B. Levinson Photographs, 1950-2006 AIS.2015.01
Joel B. Levinson, an independent photographer in Pittsburgh, Pa., who worked primarily in the 1980s and 1990s, produced numerous calendars, postcards, and photographic essays highlighting the people, events, and structures of the city under the name Pittsburghscape. The collection is comprised of approximately 7,000 items and includes photographic prints, slides, negatives, positives, and manuscript materials related to Levinson's photography of the Pittsburgh region that showcase the diversity of his subject matter.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Archives & Special Collections Exhibits

Get to the Point! Pittsburgh's Three Rivers Merge to Form Pittsburgh's Point