Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Archives & Special Collections Exhibits

Guide on Past and Current Archives & Special Collections Exhibits @ the University of Pittsburgh Library System - Oakland (2020-present)

August Wilson Archive Display

Date of Exhibition: Spring 2020- Present

Curator: Bill Daw (Curator of the Curtis Theatre Collection) and Leah Mickens (August Wilson Project Archivist)

Location: Archives & Special Collections exhibit gallery, 3rd floor Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh 3960 Forbes Avenue Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Description: Materials on display in this exhibit will rotate periodically while the August Wilson Archive is being processed by Archives & Special Collections staff. Currently we are highlighting materials relating to Wilson’s Seven Guitars, which included Keith David and Viola Davis in the cast.

  • Ma Rainley's Black Bottom Costume Designs; Daphne Pascucci, designer; 1984
  • Ma Rainley's Black Bottom Program; 1982
  • Ma Rainey's Black Bottom Script; August Wilson, author; January 1984
  • Eugene O'neill Theater Center National Playwright Conference; July 1982
  • August Wilson with Theresa Merritt; A. VIncent Scarano, Photograph; 1982
  • Ma Rainley's Black Bottom Outline and Characters; August Wilson, author; 1981
  • Butler's Drug and Restaurant Placemat; 1981
  • Letter from Llyod Richards to August Wilson; August 9, 1982
  • Seven Guitars concept art; 1994
  • Broadway Playbill program, Walter Kerr Theatre; Constanza Romero, artist; 1996
  • Seven Guitars script; August Wilson, author; 1995
  • Seven Guitars publicity photographs; Joan Marcus, photographer; 1995
  • Seven Guitars memento from Ruban Santiago-Hudson to August Wilson; January 23,1995
  • Handwritten Seven Guitars dialogue; August Wilson, author; undated

Exhibit Photographs