Guides: Archives & Special Collections Exhibits: Translations: A series of non-literal translations of poems by the artist's father (Spring 2023-Fall 2023)

Translations: A series of non-literal translations of poems by the artist's father

Introduction
Related Guides & Collection Materials

Date of Exhibition: Spring 2023 – Fall 2023

Curator: Lucy Zhang (2022 Frederick Honors College Creative Arts Fellow and Class of 2024)

Location: Digital Interactive Wall, Archives & Special Collections exhibit gallery, 3rd floor Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh 3960 Forbes Avenue Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Description: An intimate investigation of self through writings from the artist’s father, “Translations” reflects a fragmented sense of being as diaspora. Culture, family, memory, belonging, and the way these all intersect are explored through nature and materials from the ULS archives. The artist invites you to join them on this journey of forming a present construction of self through retrieval of the past, contemplating how we are all situated within larger workings of time, space, history, and emotion.

City of Pittsburgh Geodetic and Topographic Survey Maps
These maps were prepared by the City of Pittsburgh Department of Planning staff beginning in 1923 and maintained into the 1960s. Relief is shown by contours and spot heights. The original index map includes a grid index and legend. In addition to contour data, these survey maps depict streets, buildings (and sometimes their names), churches, institutions, cemeteries, mills, parks, schools, railroads, bridges, tunnels, reservoirs, lakes, ponds, rivers, streams, development plans, and various landmarks.
East Asian Library (EAL)
The University Library System (ULS) at the University of Pittsburgh (Pitt) established its Chinese collection in 1960 after Pitt was selected as one of the 20 National Defense Education Act centers for Chinese studies. Five years later, the East Asian Library (EAL) was founded to include a Japanese collection as well. The Korean materials were added to the collection beginning in the year 2000. Today, the EAL has become one of the most prominent East Asian collections and ranks 14th in North America.