Guides: Archives & Special Collections Exhibits: Ethelbert Nevin: Playing "Narcissus" from Pittsburgh to Europe (Fall 2020- Fall 2022)

Ethelbert Nevin: Playing "Narcissus" from Pittsburgh to Europe

Date of Exhibition: Fall 2020- Present

Curator: Christopher Lynch (Project Coordinator, Center for American Music)

Location: Archives & Special Collections exhibit gallery, 3rd floor Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh 3960 Forbes Avenue Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Description: Ethelbert Nevin: Playing “Narcissus” from Pittsburgh to Europe: In his day, Ethelbert Nevin (1862-1901) was recognized as one of America’s leading pianists and composers. This exhibit draws from the Center for American Music’s Ethelbert Nevin Collection to document his life and career, which took him from Pittsburgh to Boston, New York, and Europe.

Nevin at Vineacre, his family's estate in Sewickley, Pennsylvania; 1898
Recital program, Carnegie Lyceum, New York; March 24, 1898
Program from Nevin's professional debut; December 10, 1886
Nevin at his piano
Chain and clasp; 1886
"Narcissus," from Water Scenes; Elthelbert Nevin; 1891
Nevin at his desk in Queen Anne Lodge , Vineacre, Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Nevin at the piano in Queen Anne Lodge , Vineacre, Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Plaster cast of Nevin's right hand; 1901
Blotters, manuscript clip, ink blotters, and manuscript scraper from Nevin's desk
Ash tray, match boxes, pitch pipe, letter opener, knife, key ring

Ethelbert Nevin Resources
by Kathryn Haines Last Updated Aug 17, 2020 17 views this year

Center for American Music
Guide to the Ethelbert Nevin Collection, 1834-1980 CAM.NEV.1987.01
The collection contains compositions by Ethelbert Nevin (1862-1901), a composer from Sewickley, Pa. In addition to his published songs and unpublished manuscripts, this collection houses correspondence to and from him, photographs of him and his family, press write-ups about him and his works, plus a number of his material possessions.
Documenting Pitt
The University Archives documents the history and traditions of the University of Pittsburgh community, from its founding as the Pittsburgh Academy in 1787, through its re-chartering as the Western University of Pennsylvania, to the present. Documenting Pitt provides access to a sampling of these records detailing the administrative, academic and athletic pursuits and achievements of the University community which are a testament of what it means to be a Panther.
Virtual Exhibits

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Archives & Special Collections Exhibits

Ethelbert Nevin: Playing "Narcissus" from Pittsburgh to Europe

Exhibit Photographs