Guides: Archives & Special Collections Exhibits: Skyscraper University: The History of the Cathedral of Learning (Spring 2020-Present)

Skyscraper University: The History of the Cathedral of Learning

Introduction
Related Guides & Collection Materials

Date of Exhibition: Spring 2020-Present

Curator: Zachary Brodt (University Archivist & Records Manager)

Location: Digital Interactive Wall, Archives & Special Collections exhibit gallery, 3rd floor Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh 3960 Forbes Avenue Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Description: The Cathedral of Learning has captivated the Pitt community from its inception and has become a focal point of university and student activity. This exhibit highlights some of the building's milestones.

G.M. Hopkins Company Maps
Contains 46 volumes that show lot and block numbers, dimensions, street widths, names of property owners, churches, cemeteries, mills, schools, roads, railroads, lakes, ponds, rivers, and streams.
Documenting Pitt
The University Archives documents the history and traditions of the University of Pittsburgh community, from its founding as the Pittsburgh Academy in 1787, through its re-chartering as the Western University of Pennsylvania, to the present. Documenting Pitt provides access to a sampling of these records detailing the administrative, academic and athletic pursuits and achievements of the University community which are a testament of what it means to be a Panther.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Archives & Special Collections Exhibits

Skyscraper University: The History of the Cathedral of Learning

Exhibit Photographs