Skip to main content

Resources on African-American History and Culture in Pittsburgh @ A&SC: Overview

The University Library System's Archives and Special Collections contains many collections that detail African-American history and culture in Pittsburgh.

Guide Overview

The purpose of this library guide is to compile and highlight the archival materials in our Archives & Special Collections that relate to African American history and culture in Pittsburgh.  Each of the category tabs contains information on collections with links to their online finding aids and in some cases, digitized materials.

If you have any questions about these collections please contact us via the links in the box below.

Archives & Special Collections

The University of Pittsburgh Library System's Archives & Special Collections is one of western Pennsylvania's largest repositories for manuscripts, rare books, photographs, microfilm, maps, audio visual materials, and more.

Morgan Community Center

Baby Show at the Morgan Community Center. Standing at Right is Jeannette Washington, RN.., Who was the First Black Public Health Nurse in Pittsburgh. Photo by E. Simantiras Studio on Wylie Avenue.  Urban League of Pittsburgh Records.

Search

Search Digital Collections and Archival Finding Aids


Search both digitized material as well as finding aids for all of the ULS archival and manuscript holdings. A separate search on finding aids will provide you with background information and an inventory of the records found within our archival and manuscript collections.

Browse Our Digital Collections

Browse Our Finding Aids