Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Cathryn Irvis Papers, 1978-1980
The papers of Cathryn Irvis, a local advocate of health and children’s rights, are heavily focused on the United Nation’s International Year of the Child (1979). Information about planning and organizing the conference at the state and regional levels are demonstrated through Irvis’ role as chairperson of the Pennsylvania Committee for the International Year of the Child. This collection documents activities and projects and includes correspondence, programs, and pamphlets. A small amount of material about Irvis’ interests, arranged as subject files, include African American and minority organizations, health care, education, the arts and politics.
Homer S. Brown Papers, 1918-1977
Homer S. Brown became a member of the Allegheny County Bar Association in 1923. He was elected to the Pennsylvania House of Representatives in 1934 and became the first African-American appointed to the Pittsburgh Board of Education (1943), and elected (1949) as Allegheny County Judge. He served as Judge of the Court of Common Pleas in Allegheny County from 1956 to 1975. The Papers of Homer S. Brown consist of biographical material, correspondence from his political and judicial career, photographs, and articles and speeches written by Brown.
Homer S. Brown Papers - ULS Digital Collections
Select portions of the Homer S. Brown Papers have been digitized and made available.
K. Leroy Irvis Papers, 1947-1995
The K. Leroy Irvis Papers document the life of one of Pennsylvania's prominent politicians. Irvis, a Democrat, represented Pittsburgh in the Pennsylvania House of Representatives from 1958-1988. Among his achievements, Irvis was elected Speaker of the House in 1977, the first African-American to hold that position in any state legislature in the United States since Reconstruction. The collection contains a wide variety of material, including correspondence, legislative material, interviews, photographs, publications, and campaign literature.
Sala Udin Papers, 1980-2005
Sala Udin, an activist and community organizer at local and national levels, served on Pittsburgh City Council from 1995-2005, representing Council District 6, which includes the Hill District, downtown Pittsburgh, and portions of the North Side and Oakland. The bulk of the materials in this collection document his time on city council and include subjects such as African-American and minority history, employment, and culture; Pittsburgh's financial crisis; and police accountability.
Ernest Rice McKinney Papers, 1929-1935
Ernest McKinney was an African American journalist who played an integral role as an unemployed organizer for the National Unemployed League. This collection includes personal papers; it should be noted that McKinney sometimes wrote under the pseudonym of David Coolidge.
Frank E. Bolden Papers, 1930-1967
This collection contains documents relating to the life and career of journalist, Frank E. Bolden, a reporter and city editor of the Pittsburgh Courier newspaper and war correspondent for the U.S. military. The material in this collection, dating between 1930 and 1967, includes correspondence, drafts of articles, student notebooks, memos, photographs, and newspaper clippings.
Percival L. Prattis Papers, 1916-1980
This collection contains documents relating to the life and career of journalist, Percival L. Prattis, executive editor of the Pittsburgh Courier newspaper. The material dates between 1916 and 1980, with the majority of material dating from 1936 to 1964. The materials in this collection are correspondence, financial reports of the Courier, drafts of articles and stories, scrapbooks, and photographs.
Robert J. Simonds Papers, 1963-1966
Collection contains correspondence, memorabilia, and miscellaneous material pertaining to civil rights and interracial programs in the Pittsburgh Area Camp Achievement, George Washington Carver Week, Pittsburgh Interracial Home Visit Committee, Project Friendship, SHARE, United Presbyterian Church in the U.S. (Pittsburgh Presbytery) Membership Exchange Plan, and Mississippi Project; includes tape of Jazz for Freedom Concert, 17 January 1965.
Albert French Papers, 1973-2010
This collection includes manuscripts, correspondence, publicity, and reviews of the work of author Albert French, encompassing the entirety of French's writing career from his first explorations with fiction in an unfinished manuscript to copies of all his published works.
Albert French (born 1943) is a Pittsburgh author and cousin of author John Edgar Wideman. After graduating from Penn Hills High School, French joined the Marines. He was sent to Vietnam and shot in the neck, but survived. French returned to Pittsburgh and pursued photography, eventually running his own magazine The Pittsburgh Preview. French then wrote his first novel Billy, which was published and received international acclaim. In 2007, Billy was adapted for the stage by David Barr and debuted in Chicago. French wrote three more novels and his memoir was eventually published, all favorably reviewed. Both Billy and Holly were translated into Dutch. French’s novels are centered on racism in America against Black people and are most commented on for their lyricism and authentic dialogue.