Guides: African-American History and Culture in Pittsburgh @ Archives &amp; Special Collections: Pitt

What is the University Archives?

The University Archives, a unit of the Archives & Special Collections within the University Library System, collects, preserves and makes accessible the papers, records, photographs and media that document the history and mission of the University of Pittsburgh. Pitt faculty and departments are encouraged to deposit relevant materials in the archives for permanent retention.

In this guide:

Historical Records tab describes what kind of historical records the University Archives collects and holds
People tab shows what kinds of information that we maintain on Pitt's faculty, staff, students and visitors
Publications tab lists some of the books and journals that University has issued over its history.

Black Action Society and the Black Studies Department

Black Action Society Files, 1968-1992
In May of 1968 a group of African American students formed an organization that would address the needs and concerns of the African American student community at the University of Pittsburgh. Among their demands was that the University actively recruit and admit black students, that the role of African Americans in the history of this and other countries be incorporated into the curricula of Pitt's courses, that the number of black faculty be increased, and that a Black Studies Program be developed within the University. This collection consists of the minutes of this organization from 1968 to 1989.
Chancellor of the University of Pittsburgh, Wesley W. Posvar, Administrative Files, 1967-1991
Wesley Posvar served as Chancellor of the University of Pittsburgh from 1967 to 1991. This collection contains materials relating to the Black Action Society and the creation of the Black Studies Department, now known as the Africana Studies Department.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

African-American History and Culture in Pittsburgh @ Archives & Special Collections: Pitt

What is the University Archives?

Black Action Society and the Black Studies Department