Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Erroll Garner Archive, 1942-2010
Erroll Garner (1921-1977) was an African American pianist/composer from Pittsburgh, Pa., known largely for his 1954 composition “Misty,” and his 1955 live album Concert by the Sea. This collection documents his life and work; it contains correspondence, sheet music, legal documents, photographs/negatives, memorabilia, awards, sound recordings, and moving images.
Erroll Garner Archive - ULS Digital Collections
Select portions of the Erroll Garner Archive have been digitized and made available.
African American Jazz Preservation Society of Pittsburgh Oral History Project, 1995-1999
This oral history collection consists of transcripts, cassette tapes, project working files and background organizational records of the interviews conducted during the African American Jazz Preservation Society of Pittsburgh (AAJPSP) Oral History Project (1995-1999). The project documents individual African American Jazz Musicians in Pittsburgh as well as their efforts to organize. The content of the interviews span from 1904 to 1999.
Pitt Jazz Collection, 1971-2001
The Pitt Jazz Collection contains manuscript, photographic, and audio/video materials documenting the first 30 years of jazz activities at the University of Pittsburgh. The bulk of the collection relates to the University of Pittsburgh’s Annual Jazz Seminar, but other topics include the Jazz Studies Department, the International Jazz Academy Hall of Fame, International Jazz Archives Journal, and Dr. Nathan Davis, founder and longtime director of the university’s Jazz Studies Program.
American Federation of Musicians, Local 60-471, Pittsburgh, Pa. Records, 1906-1996
The American Federation of Musicians (A.F. of M.) was founded in October 1896 as a national labor union for the musical profession. This collection contains records of Locals 60, 471 and 60-471; the records include a constitution and registration book, by-laws, meeting minutes, newsletters, membership directories and cards, performance price lists, convention programs, election ballots, dues cards, and 16mm black and white films.