Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Urban League of Pittsburgh
Urban League of Pittsburgh Records - Digital Collection
Visual images from the 1920s-1950s show group portraits from conventions and youth conferences, individual portraits of Urban League Fellows and Urban League staff, housing and work conditions for black employees, and children at Camp James Weldon.
Urban League of Pittsburgh Records, 1915-1963
The records of the Urban League of Pittsburgh, founded in 1918, contain minutes, correspondence, department reports, photographs and Urban League Fellows theses from 1915-1963. The emphasis of the Urban League was on African-American employment and training; topics include federal housing projects, youth employment, worker discrimination and African-American welfare work.
Kingsley Association Records, 1894-1980
The Kingsley Association was formed in 1893 by George Hodges as a Pittsburgh settlement house. The collection includes: administrative and annual reports, books, brochures, budget information, case studies, clippings, correspondence, directories, minutes, photos and surveys spanning intermittent years from 1894-1980. Digital reproductions of the collection are available online.
Oliver M. Kaufmann Photograph Collection of the Irene Kaufmann Settlement, 1912-1969
The Oliver M. Kaufmann Photograph Collection of the Irene Kaufmann Settlement contains approximately 3,000 images from the years 1912 through 1969 depicting activities at the Irene Kaufmann Settlement and the Emma Farm Camp. The Irene Kaufmann Settlement, a neighborhood social welfare agency located in the Hill District, was one of the first settlements of its kind in the United States and its highly successful programs served as models for similar institutions. Digital reproductions of selected images are available online.
Soho Community House Records, 1938-1942
The Soho Community House was founded in 1905 and served as a social service agency to the residents of the industrial neighborhood of Soho, which was located between Downtown Pittsburgh and Oakland. The records consist primarily of annual reports and a few promotional pamphlets.
Community Development Organizations
Homewood-Brushton Revitalization and Development Corporation Records, 1984-1988
The records of the Homewood-Brushton Revitalization and Development Corporation (HBRDC), founded in 1982, contain correspondence, meeting minutes and supporting documents detailing the group’s campaigns and advocacy activities. The collection also contains the group’s monthly newspaper, The Homewood-Brushton Informer, which was active from 1984 to 1988. The focus of the HBRDC was on housing, business and urban redevelopment projects.
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, Pittsburgh Branch Records, 1964-1966
The Records of the NAACP Pittsburgh Branch consist of an extensive collection of correspondence, minutes, local headquarters activities, chapter records, membership campaigns, bills and receipts, reports, pamphlets and other miscellaneous information.
Tim Stevens Papers, 1945-2006
The collection documents the life and career of Tim Stevens, a prominent African American figure in the Pittsburgh community. Stevens served as president of the Pittsburgh branch of the NAACP (1994-2004) and was responsible for advocating for the rights of the African American community. This collection contains correspondence, meetings minutes, brochures, flyers, personal notes, news articles, memos, cassette tapes, VHS tapes and photographs.
African American Construction Workers of Pittsburgh
African American Construction Workers of Pittsburgh Photographs
Visual images depict African American construction workers in Pittsburgh in 1957-1960, and from efforts by African American leaders like Ellis R. McGruder, Jr. and Nate Smith in the 1960s and 1970s to bring about greater employment opportunities for African Americans in the building trades in Pittsburgh.