Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Edward S. Curtis and The North American Indian, Spring-Summer 2018: Resources & Timeline

This library guide is an overview of the Archives & Special Collection exhibit on Edward S. Curtis and The North American Indian.

ULS Digital Resources

Digital Resources for Edward S. Curtis

Exhibition on Edward S. Curtis & Contemporary Native Artists

Curtis device

In the Land of the Sioux

Photogravure of In the Land of the Sioux

In the Land of the Sioux, 1905

This picture illustrates the general character of the Sioux country. The broad, rolling prairie is broken by low hills, while here and there lie pools of stagnant water in old buffalo-wallows. The subjects of the pictures are Red Hawk, Crazy Thunder, and Holy Skin, three Ogalala who accompanied the author on a trip into the Bad Lands.

Print caption by Edward S. Curtis, The North American Indian, Portfolio III, Plate no. 95, 1908.

Curtis device

 

Visiting Archives & Special Collections

Archives & Special Collections is the location for archival and manuscript collections, collected works of art and ephemera, atlases, books, maps, photographs, and rare materials that date from the 14th century to the present at the University of Pittsburgh.

Researchers interested in visiting Archives & Special Collections at Hillman Library can learn more about our hours and policies below:

Frequently Asked Questions

Research Policies

Curtis device

Suggested Reading - Primary Works

Suggested Reading - Secondary Works