Skip to main content

Course & Subject Guides

The Compleat Angler: And Other Meditations on the Art and Philosophy of Fishing, 15th Century to the Present: Resources

The exhibit is located in the Reading Room at Archives & Special Collections, 363 Hillman Library, Spring - Fall 2017.

Resources Page Banner

Conservation and Angling Clubs

ULS Digital Resources

Visiting Archives & Special Collections

Dove Dale

Archives & Special Collections is the location for archival and manuscript collections, collected works of art and ephemera, atlases, books, maps, photographs, and rare materials that date from the 14th century to the present at the University of Pittsburgh.

Researchers interested in visiting Archives & Special Collections at Hillman Library can learn more about our hours and policies below:

Frequently Asked Questions

Research Policies

The Bernard Horne - Izaak Walton Collection

Bernard Shea Horne was the grandson of Joseph Horne, the founder of the regional Pittsburgh department store, the Joseph Horne Company.  Bernard Horne had many roles during his professional career, including board chair of the Joseph Horne Company, and co-founder and first president of The Pittsburgh Bibliophiles, a nationally recognized organization of book lovers and collectors.  In addition, Horne worked as the unpaid advisor to the chancellor at the University of Pittsburgh, and served as the president and as a member of the Pennsylvania Fish Commission, now known as the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission, from 1947 to 1955. 

Interests in English literature and angling led Bernard Horne to assemble one of the largest private collections of Izaak Walton’s The Compleat Angler in the United States, with over 350 editions.  He also authored a descriptive bibliography of 385 editions of Izaak Walton’s The Compleat Angler titled, The Compleat Angler, 1653-1970:  A New Bibliography, published by The Pittsburgh Bibliophiles in 1970.  In 1973, Bernard Horne’s wife Kathleen bequeathed his book collection of Izaak Walton’s The Compleat Angler to the University of Pittsburgh as a memorial to her husband.  The Bernard Horne-Izaak Walton Collection, with over 360 titles, is located in Archives & Special Collections at the University of Pittsburgh. 

The Walter & Martha Leuba Collection of Artists' Prints

The Water Splash

The Water Splash by Joan Hassall, [c.1937]

The Walter & Martha Leuba Collection of Artists Prints includes over 1,200 woodcuts and wood engravings by Asian and Western artists from the 17th century through the 20th century.  The print collection is located in Archives & Special Collections at the University of Pittsburgh.

Timeline of Angling & Conservation Events

  • 1496 - Dame Juliana Berners publishes the "Treatyse of Fysshynge with an Angle" in The Boke of St. Albans
  • 1642-1651 - The English Civil Wars
  • 1649-1660 - The English Interregnum
  • 1653 - Izaak Walton publishes The Compleat Angler
  • 1666 - Robert Venables publishes The Experienced Angler
  • 1676 - Charles Cotton publishes his fly-fishing treatise in The Compleat Angler
  • 1713 - John Gay publishes Rural Sports:  A Georgic Inscribed to Mr. Pope in London
  • 1781 - State of Pennsylvania passes laws to protect the Schuylkill River and its fish runs
  • 1801-1802 - William Barker Daniel publishes Rural Sports in London
  • 1820 - Washington Irving publishes "The Angler," a recollection of Izaak Walton and angling
  • 1849 - U. S. Department of Interior established
  • 1872 - Yellowstone National Park established, the world's first national park
  • 1873 - Forest & Stream magazine founded
  • 1899 - Sir Edward Grey publishes Fly Fishing in London
  • 1916 - U. S. Congress creates the National Park Service
  • 1922 - Izaak Walton League founded
  • 1925 - Ernest Hemingway publishes Big Two Hearted River in Paris
  • 1948 - U. S. Federal Water Pollution Control Act established
  • 1956 - U. S. Fish & Wildlife Act established
  • 1959 - Trout Unlimited founded
  • 1962 - Rachel Carson publishes Silent Spring
  • 1963 - U. S. Clean Air Act established
  • 1968 - U. S. Wild & Scenic Rivers Act established
  • 1970 - U. S. Environmental Protection Agency established and 1st Earth Day takes place
  • 1972 - U. S. Clean Water Act established
  • 1973 - U. S. Endangered Species Act established
  • 1989 - Exxon Valdez Oil Spill, Prince William Sound, Alaska
  • 1995 - Present - United Nations Climate Change Conferences

Bottom Banner