Skip to main content

The Compleat Angler: And Other Meditations on the Art and Philosophy of Fishing, 15th Century to the Present: 19th Century Editions

The exhibit is located in the Reading Room at Archives & Special Collections, 363 Hillman Library, Spring - Fall 2017.

19th Century Page Banner

1810 - The Bagster Facsimile Edition

Chub

Chub

The Compleat Angler, Izaak Walton, 1810

Trout

Trout

The Compleat AnglerIzaak Walton, 1810

Grayling

Grayling

The Compleat AnglerIzaak Walton, 1810

Salmon

Salmon

The Compleat AnglerIzaak Walton, 1810

Pike

Pike

The Compleat AnglerIzaak Walton, 1810

Carp

Carp

The Compleat AnglerIzaak Walton, 1810

Bream

Bream

The Compleat AnglerIzaak Walton, 1810

Tench

Tench

The Compleat AnglerIzaak Walton, 1810

Perch

Perch

The Compleat AnglerIzaak Walton, 1810

The 1810 edition published by Samuel Bagster is the earliest attempt at an exact reprint of the 1653 edition.  This copy is extra illustrated, and it contains all 17 engravings of fish by Philip Audinet that appear in Bagster’s first edition of 1808, which are hand-colored in this copy.

Walton, Izaak, (1593-1683).
Bagster, Samuel, (1772-1851) editor and publisher.
Audinet, Philip, (1766-1837) artist and engraver.

The Compleat Angler or the Contemplative Man’s Recreation.

London: Printed for S. Bagster, in the Strand. MDCCCX. 

University Library System - Archives & Special Collections

1815 - The Second Bagster Edition

1815 TItle Page

Title Page

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1815

Sir John Hawkins

Portrait of Sir John Hawkins

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1815

Map of the River Lea

Map of the River Lea

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1815

Men and Women Fishing

Men and Women Fishing at a River

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1815

Man and Woman Fishing in Boat

A Man and a Woman Fishing in a Boat

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1815

This is the extra-illustrated Bagster edition from the fifth edition of 1676, edited with notes by Sir Henry Ellis, who later became the head librarian at the British Museum.  There are fifty illustrations, including engravings of fish, landscapes, music, and portraits.  In addition, two of the engravings show women fishing together with men.  One of the engravings is by James Hopwood, and depicts a couple fishing from a boat with details of artificial flies at the top of the image.

Walton, Izaak, (1593-1683).
Cotton, Charles, (1630-1687).
Bagster, Samuel, (1772-1851), editor and publisher.
Ellis, Sir Henry, (1777-1869), editor.
Hopwood, James, (1740’s or 50’s-1819) artist.

The Complete Angler, or Contemplative Man’s Recreation.

London: Printed for Samuel Bagster, in the Strand, By R. Watts, at Broxbourne, on the River Lea, Herts. MDCCCXV. 

University Library System - Archives & Special Collections

About the 19th Century Editions

Though Walton's work was made popular again in the 18th century by the various editions put out by Brown and Hawkins, the 19th century saw a real increase in new editions of The Compleat Angler.  Revitalized interest in the art of angling led to numerous editors and publishers creating their own version of the Angler.  Some were true to the original, while others displayed current interests and trends.  The 1885 version, for instance, contains only the songs from the Angler, presented along with new illustrations drawn by the artist and editor, Joseph Crawhall.

1822 - The Smith Edition

1822 Portrait of Walton

Portrait of Izaak Walton

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1822

1822 Title Page

Title Page for Part I

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1822

Walton's House

Izaak Walton's House

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1822

Tottenham Cross

Tottenham Cross

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1822

Otter and Trout

Otter and Trout

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1822

Dibbing for Chub

Dibbing for Chub

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1822

Fly Fishing for Trout

Fly Fishing for Trout

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1822

Perch Fishing

Perch Fishing

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1822

Barbel Fishing

Barbel Fishing

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1822

Group of Fish

Group of Fish

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1822

Portrait of Charles Cotton

Portrait of Charles Cotton

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1822

1822 Part 2 Title Page

Title Page for Part II

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1822

Dove Dale

Dove Dale

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1822

Beresford Hall

Beresford Hall

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1822

Cotton's Fishing House

Charles Cotton's Fishing House

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1822

Pike Pool

Pike Pool

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1822

This edition of The Compleat Angler is a reissue of the seventh Hawkins edition, and is illustrated with many engravings of fish and landscapes, some of which may have been engraved after drawings by the English artist Samuel Wale.

Walton, Izaak, (1593-1683).
Cotton, Charles, (1630-1687).
Hawkins, Sir John, (1719-1789), editor.

The Complete Angler, or Contemplative Man’s Recreation.

London: Printed for James Smith, 1822. 

University Library System - Archives & Special Collections

1836 - The First Nicolas Edition

Frontispiece Portrait of Walton

Frontispiece Portrait of Walton

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1836

Title Page of 1836 Volume 1

Title Page of Volume 1

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1836

Fishing-House of Sir Henry Wotton

Fishing House of Sir Henry Wotton

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1836

Frontispiece Portrait of Cotton

Frontispiece Portrait of Cotton

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1836

Fly Fisher

Image of a Fly Fisher

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1836

Woodcut of a Fishing House

Woodcut of a Fishing House

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1836

Vignette of a Fishing House

Vignette of a Fishing House

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1836

The Complete Angler, edited by Harris Nicolas and published by William Pickering in 1836, is a reprint of the 1676 edition.  The two-volume set was printed in twelve parts to be bound by the subscriber, with each title page printed in red and black with the Pickering Anchor and Dolphin device.  William Pickering enlisted 27 of the most prominent artists, painters, and engravers of the period to illustrate this edition, which is considered one of the finest ever published.

Walton, Izaak, (1593-1683).
Cotton, Charles, (1630-1687).
Nicolas, Harris Nicolas, Sir, (1799-1848) editor.

The Complete Angler: or, The Contemplative Man’s Recreation.

London: William Pickering, 1836. 

University Library System - Archives & Special Collections

1853 - The First Ephemera Edition

1853 Title Page

Title Page

The Complete Angler, Izaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1853

The 1853 edition of The Complete Angler is the first edition edited by ‘Ephemera’ the pseudonym of Edward Fitzgibbon. The half-title page is illustrated with a frame of vines with artificial flies and a vignette of fish and fishing tackle below the title.

Walton, Izaak, (1593-1683).
Cotton, Charles, (1630-1687).
Ephemera, [Fitzgibbon, Edward, (1803-1857)] editor.

The Complete Angler.

London: Ingram, Cooke & co., 1853. 

University Library System - Archives & Special Collections

1885 - The Crawhall Abridged Edition

1855 Title Page

Title Page

Izaak Walton: His Wallet Booke, Izaak Walton, 1885

1855 Page with Moth

Text Featuring a Moth

Izaak Walton: His Wallet BookeIzaak Walton, 1885

Fisherman Catching a Fish

Angler Catching a Fish

Izaak Walton: His Wallet BookeIzaak Walton, 1885

1855 Woodcut of a Fish

Woodcut of a Fish

Izaak Walton: His Wallet BookeIzaak Walton, 1885

1855 Page with Anchor

Text Featuring an Anchor

Izaak Walton: His Wallet BookeIzaak Walton, 1885

Fisherman With Rod

Angler With Rod

Izaak Walton: His Wallet BookeIzaak Walton, 1885

Joseph Crawhall designed and illustrated Izaak Walton:  His Wallet Booke, with 174 hand-colored woodcuts.  It is an abridged edition of 36 songs and posies from the fifth edition of The Compleat Anger of 1676.

Walton, Izaak, (1593-1683).
Crawhall, Joseph, (1821-1896), artist and editor.

Izaak Walton: His Wallet Booke.

London: Field & Tuer, The Leadenhall Press.
Sampson Low, Marston, Searle, & Rivington, 1885. 

University Library System - Archives & Special Collections

Bottom Banner