Skip to main content

The Compleat Angler: And Other Meditations on the Art and Philosophy of Fishing, 15th Century to the Present: 19th Century American Authors and Artists

The exhibit is located in the Reading Room at Archives & Special Collections, 363 Hillman Library, Spring - Fall 2017.

19th century authors and artists banner

Henry Van Dyke

Fisherman's Luck engraving

Frontispiece from Fisherman's Luck, 1908

"That wise man and accomplished scholar, Sir Henry Wotton, the friend of Izaak Walton and ambassador of King James I to the republic of Venice, was accustomed to say that “he would rather live five May months than forty Decembers.”  The reason for this preference was no secret to those who knew him.  It had nothing to do with British or Venetian politics.  It was simply because December, with all its domestic joys, is practically a dead month in the angler’s calendar."

Van Dyke, Henry, (1852-1933). 

Fisherman's Luck and Some Other Uncertain Things.

New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1908, p. 145.

University Library System - Hillman Library - Online Exhibit LibGuide 

Annie Slosson

Fishin' Jimmy engraving of a man

Frontispiece portrait fom Fishin' Jimmy, [1889]

Annie Trumbull Slosson was an American writer and entomologist.  She is considered an important short story author who was active during the American literary regionalism or “local color” movement of the late 19th century, and many of her works were first published in The Atlantic Monthly and Harper’s Bazaar.  

Slosson, Annie, (1838-1926).

Fishin' Jimmy

New York: Anson D. F. Randolph & Co., [1889].

University Library System - Archives & Special Collections - Online Exhibit LibGuide Only 

 

"The Angler" by Washington Irving

Portrait of Washington Irving

Frontispiece portrait of Washington Irving from The Works of Washington Irving,1840

"It is said that many an unlucky urchin is induced to run away from his family, and betake himself to a seafaring life, from reading the history of Robinson Crusoe; and I suspect that, in like manner, many of those worthy gentlemen, who are given to haunt the sides of pastoral streams with angle-rods in hand, may trace the origin of their passion to the seductive pages of honest Izaak Walton.  I recollect studying his “Complete Angler,” several years since, in company with a knot of friends in America, and moreover that we were all completely bitten with the angling mania.  It was early in the year; but as soon as the weather was auspicious, and that the spring began to melt into the verge of summer, we took rod in hand and sallied into the country, as stark mad as was ever Don Quixote from reading books of chivalry."   

Works of Washington Irving title page

Title page of The Works of Washington Irving, 1840

Irving, Washington, (1783-1859).

"The Angler."

The Works of Washington Irving.

Two volumes.

Philadelphia: Lea and Blanchard, 1840, I, 328.

University Library System - Archives & Special Collections - Darlington Collection

Thomas Doughty

Thomas Doughty lithograph of two fish

Lithograph of Trout of Silver Lake & Male Brook Trout, in The Cabinet of Natural History, 1830-1834

Thomas Doughty, born in Philadelphia, was a self-taught artist and landscape painter of mountain and river scenes of Pennsylvania, New York, New England, and the Hudson River Valley.  Doughty created this color lithograph on stone of the Pennsylvania, Trout of Silver Lake & Male Brook Trout, from a drawing by a Lady.     

Thomas Doughty Cabinet of Natural History Volume 1 title page

Frontispiece of The Cabinet of Natural History, volume one, 1830-1834

Cabinet of Natural History Volume 2 title page

Frontispiece of The Cabinet of Natural History, volume two, 1830-1834

Doughty, Thomas, (1793-1856) artist and painter. 

The Cabinet of Natural History and American Rural Sports with Illustrations.

Philadelphia: Published by J. & T. Doughty, 1830-1834, I, pl. 13. 

University Library System - Archives & Special Collections - Darlington Collection 

Bottom Banner