Skip to main content

Course & Subject Guides

The Compleat Angler: And Other Meditations on the Art and Philosophy of Fishing, 15th Century to the Present: Grey & Daglish and Brown & Knowles

The exhibit is located in the Reading Room at Archives & Special Collections, 363 Hillman Library, Spring - Fall 2017.

Grey & Daglish and Brown & Knowles Banner

Eric Fitch Daglish and the Illustrations

Spawning Trout engraving from Fly Fishing

Eric Fitch Daglish, Spawning Trout, [1930]

Eric Fitch Daglish, an English artist, engraver, and author, illustrated his own works and those of others, including Izaak Walton and Henry David Thoreau.

Daglish, Eric Fitch, (1892-1966) illustrator.

Grey of Fallodon, Edward Grey, Viscount, (1862-1933).

Fly Fishing.

London & Toronto: J.M. Dent & Sons Ltd., [1930-1899].

University Library System - Archives & Special Collections - Leuba Collection

Dust jacket illustration from Fly Fishing

Eric Fitch Daglish, The fly came back to me, [1930] 

Fly Fishing: Edward Grey, Viscount of Fallodon

Fly Fishing by Viscount Fallodon full dust jacket

Dust jacket from Fly Fishing, [1930]

"Thus, as the angler looks back he thinks less of individual captures and days than of the scenes in which he fished. The luxuriance of water meadows, animated by insect and bird and trout life, tender with the green and gay with the blossoms of early spring:  the nobleness and volume of great salmon rivers:  the exhilaration of looking at any salmon pool, great or small; the rich brownness of Highland water:  the wild openness of the treeless, trackless spaces which he has traversed in an explorer’s spirit of adventure to search likely water for sea trout:  now on one, now on another of these scenes an angler’s mind will dwell, as he thinks of fishing.  Special days and successes he will no doubt recall, but always with the remembrance and the mind’s vision of the scenes and the world in which he fished.  For, indeed, this does seem a separate world, a world of beauty and enjoyment."

Grey of Fallodon, Edward Grey, Viscount, (1862-1933).

Fly Fishing

London & Toronto: J.M. Dent & Sons Ltd., [1930-1899].

University Library System - Archives & Special Collections - Leuba Collection 

Wilfred Gavin Brown

Angler's Almanac fisherman engraving

Frontispiece of Angler's Almanac, 1949

Wilfred Gavin Brown, the author of My River and Some Other Waters published in 1947, describes his return to the fishing stream of his childhood after World War II. Angler’s Almanac recounts Brown’s observations of nature and his thoughts during peacetime while fishing that same river and other familiar rivers and lakes in England. Reginald Lionel Knowles, a book designer and illustrator, illustrated each of Brown’s books, and Knowles, along with his brothers Horace and Charles, worked as illustrators and designers for different British publishers during the 20th century.    

Angler's Almanac full dust jacket

Dust jacket from Angler's Almanac, 1949

Angler's Almanac title page

Title page of Angler's Almanac, 1949

Brown, Wilfred Gavin (active 1940's).

Knowles, Reginald Lionel,  (1878-1951), illustrator.

Angler's Almanac: Some Leaves on a River.

London: F. Muller, 1949.

University Library System - Archives & Special Collections - Leuba Collection 

Bottom Banner