Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

The Compleat Angler: And Other Meditations on the Art and Philosophy of Fishing, 15th Century to the Present: 18th Century Editions

The exhibit is located in the Reading Room at Archives & Special Collections, 363 Hillman Library, Spring - Fall 2017.

18th Century Page Banner

1750 Edition

1750 Edition Cover

Cover

The Compleat Angler, Izaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1750

1750 Edition Frontispiece

Frontispiece

The Compleat AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1750

1750 Edition Title Page

Title Page

The Compleat AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1750

Two Men Fishing

Two Men Fishing

The Compleat AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1750

Moses Brown edited and published the first reissue of The Compleat Angler in 1750.  The last edition was the Universal Angler, published 83 years earlier in 1676.  This edition contains six copperplates engraved and signed by H. Burgh, one page of music, one fishing scene headpiece, and fifteen woodcuts of fish.

Walton, Izaak, (1593-1683).
Cotton, Charles, (1630-1687).
Browne, Moses, (1704-1787), editor.

The Compleat Angler: Or, Contemplative Man’s Recreation.

London: Printed and sold by Henry Kent, MDCCL. 

University Library System - Archives & Special Collections

About the 18th Century Editions

Piscator, Venator, and Auceps

Piscator, Venator, and Auceps

The Compleat Angler, Izaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1760

After the 1676 edition of The Compleat Angler (the last Walton published before his death in 1683), no new editions of The Compleat Angler were published for almost one hundred years. Moses Brown, editor of the 1750 edition, and John Hawkins, editor of the 1760 edition, were likely both influenced to publish new editions of the Angler by Dr. Samuel Johnson, a famous literary critic. Brown produced a second edition of his version in 1759, leading to a dispute with Hawkins, whose 1760 version was already being printed at the time. Each editor boasted that their version was the only correct one, and Brown accused Hawkins of copying images and biographical information from his earlier version. Despite this controversy, the 18th century editions introduced new context for the work in a new century, as well as contemporary illustrations, indicating the beginning of a revival for The Compleat Angler.

1760 Edition

1760 Edition Title Page

Title Page for Part I

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1760

1760 Edition Diagrams of Fishing Gear

Diagram of Fishing Gear

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1760

1760 Diagrams of Flies

Diagram of Flies

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1760

Walton-Cotton Cipher

Title Page for Part II, Featuring the Walton-Cotton Ciper

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1760

Fishing House and Pike Pool

Charles Cotton's Fishing House and Pike Pool

The Complete AnglerIzaak Walton and Charles Cotton, 1760

This is the first edition edited by John Hawkins.  It features sections describing the lives of Walton and Cotton.  It contains eleven engravings by William W. Ryland, one engraved and two woodcut headpieces, two plates of music, three plates of fishing gear, and seventeen woodcuts of fish.

Walton, Izaak, (1593-1683).
Cotton, Charles, (1630-1687).
Hawkins, John, Sir, (1719-1789), editor.

The Complete Angler: Or, Contemplative Man’s Recreation.

London: Printed only for Thomas Hope, 1760. 

University Library System - Archives & Special Collections

Bottom Banner