Skip to main content

Course & Subject Guides

Pittsburgh Women in Organized Labor @ Pitt Archives: Further Resources

The Roles of Women in Pittsburgh's Labor History as seen through the University of Pittsburgh's Archives & Special Collections

Further Reading

Labor History

Focus on Women in Labor History

First Female Masonry Gang Leaders, 1944

Leaders of Westinghouse, 1951

Summary

The sources available in the Archives Service Center collections are limited in the amount of information that they can provide about women in organized labor. There are many collections that focus on labor and organized labor in Pittsburgh, ranging from the 19th century through the present day. Many of these collections include member logs, meeting minutes, and correspondence. However, women are mostly absent from many of these sources. While collections such as those of Margaret Darin Stasik, Rosemary Trump, and Steffi Domike provide an insightful perspective of women in the organized labor history of Pittsburgh, other collections barely acknowledge the presence of women at all.

However, these brief indications of women within many collections can add an entirely new perspective to Pittsburgh's history of organized labor. Even when they were not explicitly named, women were crucial in organized labor. They worked to provide for their families and to better the workplace for future women. They fought for equity and equality, which benefited workers of all backgrounds. Without these women, the labor history of Pittsburgh would not be the same. Their dedication and perseverance helped shape the economic and cultural fabric of today.

Websites of Interest

More Information:

Additional Resources:

Union Websites:

Women Employees at Carrie Furnace

Interested in Investigating? Information for this Guide Came from these Materials/Collections: