Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
CERIS - Islamic Studies Resources
Islamic Studies extends from the 7th century to the present and across broad geographical areas of the world. It includes the history and cultures of Muslim majority countries from Morocco to Indonesia as well as Muslim minorities living in Europe and the United States. It encompasses many languages, literatures, and disciplines, including geometry, law, economics, music, and architecture. Image of Islamic Art by Alex Proimos at en.wikipedia [Public domain], from Wikipedia Commons
Selected Internet Resources
Virtual Religion Index
A listing of links to information about Biblical Studies, Comparative Religion, Islamic Tradition, Judaic Studies, Christian Studies, and more.
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook
Links to major historical texts and documents in the history of Islam, covering the development of the religion from its beginnings, along with different religious traditions within Islam, maps, and general Internet sites about Islam.
Jewish History Resource Center
Links to major historical texts and documents in the history of Judaism, including religious thought in different eras, divisions within Judaism, Judaism and culture, and general Internet sites about Jewish Studies.
Library Research Guide for Christianity (Yale University Divinity School Library)
A collection of electronic texts and links to Internet sites dealing with various aspects of church history, theology, social and ethical issues, liturgy, and missions as they relate to Christianity.
The Middle East is home to many religions, including three of the world's major religions: Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. These three religions have figured greatly into many historic events as well as the daily affairs of the countries within the Middle East. The following databases will aid in the search for information about Judaism, Christianity, and Islam.
The American Theological Library Association's ATLA Religion Database, is the leading international database indexing citations in all scholarly fields of religion. It is a compilation of three printed indexes namely: Religion Index One: Periodicals, Religion Index Two: Multiple Author Works and Index to Book Reviews in Religion. It covers such topics as Biblical Studies, World Religions, Church History, and religious perspectives on social issues.
The Encyclopedia Judaica online 16 volume edition of the printed Encyclopaedia, the Year Books and the Decennials that followed, and a distinguished series of selected updates. Information in the Encyclopedia covers the entire gamut of the Jewish world.
Encyclopaedia of Islam
Presents information on the "state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion and history to politics and culture."
The complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. This online version contains the unedited contents of the original encyclopedia. Since the original work was completed almost 100 years ago, it does not cover a significant portion of modern Jewish History (e.g., the creation of Israel, the Holocaust, etc.).
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Encompassing over 3,000 encyclopedia-style articles, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines, Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information on Islam.
RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel. The database is updated daily.
Religious & Theological Abstracts
This database provides and allows you to search through article abstracts from hundreds of religion and theology journals.