Guides: African Studies and African Country Resources @ Pitt: Statistical Web Links

International Data

These are selected sources for international data.

City-Data.com
Detailed data, rankings and profiles of US and Canadian Cities, as well as a forum to ask questions.
GEOHive
Contains demographic, economic and geopolitical data for countries, regions, provinces and cities, also provides extensive links to country and international organizations sites.
International Data Base (IDB)
Provides demographic, and socio-economic data for over 225 countries and areas of the world, as well as country summaries and rankings, world population pyramids, world demographic data, and tables with selected indicators, countries and user selected regions, and years.
International Statistical Agencies
Provides alphabetical links to the statistical agencies of countries, international organizations and areas of the world like Hong Kong.
Nation Master
The world’s largest central data source of comparative country data, allows users to create customized data graphs or maps based on any of its 600 statistical variables. It compiles statistics from sources such as the CIA, UN, World Bank, WHO, World Resources Institute, and the OECD. Over 3700 country maps are included.

Statistical Web Sources

Most country and city data comes from offical government websites of the city or country, or from statistical abstracts and handbooks of the individual country. International organizations and databases generally provide only country level data. A few good web sites for reliable links to statistical sources include the sites on this page.

Country Statistical Yearbooks: An Alphabetical Index
Links to the most recent country yearbooks for about 130 major countries.
OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
Provides access to free statistics from official sources on the web, can be searched by a single category, or a combination of categories. Web links are arranged by country, region or subject.
Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web • Bureau of Labor Statistics:
Contains extensive links to international statistical agencies (by country), major US Federal Statistical agencies, and state labor market links.
UN Statistical Databases
UN sources – on world urbanization or habitat
World by Map
A sister site of the City Population web site, World by Map presents several statistics and charts by tables, maps and diagrams, (country focus).
City Population
Provides population data for for the major cities and agglomerations of each country, as well as links to National Statistical Offices, “Best International Statistical Web Sources”, and “International Yearbooks” with comparative data.
Population Statistics
This award winning Dutch site by researcher Jan Lahmeyer provides a historical, demographical and statistical overview of the population of all the countries in the world, their administrative divisions and their important cities. Last updated in 2011 coverage varies by city.

Ask-A-Librarian

If you have a question or need more information please contact one of our professional librarians instantly with Ask-A-Librarian Chat.

For more ways to ask your question, please visit our Ask-A-Librarian page.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

African Studies and African Country Resources @ Pitt

International Data

Statistical Web Sources

Ask-A-Librarian