Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
African Studies Books
An Interdisciplinary Primer in African Studies by
Call Number: Hillman Afro DT30.5 .I587 2011
Interdisciplinary study of contemporary Africa addresses the persistent stereotypes and provides an analysis of political, economic, socio-cultural, education, geography, scientific developments, and government and managerial issues from an afrocentric (insider) perspective. Themes include: disciplinary perspectives in African studies, ethnocentricism in teaching human geography of Africa, and topics of geography, religion and spirituality, mathematics, psychology, government and public policy, the transformation of higher education, rural development, communication and socio-economic development, culture and decision making styles all as they relate to Africa.
Africanizing Knowledge: African Studies Across the Disciplines by
Call Number: Hillman Afro: DT19 .A346 2002
Examines the ways in which Africanist scholarship might become "more African" in focus. Are methods and concerns derived from Western historiography appropriate tools for researching and narrating African history? Unfortunately the most prestigious locations for production of African studies are outside Africa itself. Scholars seeking a solution to this paradox agree that the ideal solution would be a flowering of institutions of higher learning within Africa which would draw not only Africanist scholars, but also financial resources to the continent.
Four themes [Africanizing African History, African Creative Expression in Context, Writing about Colonialism, and Scholars and Their Work] run through the essayswhich employ several innovative methods in an effort to study Africa on its own terms.
African Studies Companion: A Resource Guide & Directory by
Call Number: Hillman Afro REFERENCE DT19.8 Z45 1997
Roadmap through 800+ annotated entries and contacts (includes email/fax) to the world of African Studies; guide includes: essential reference works, major libraries & documentation centers, periodicals, publishers & distributors of African studies materials, the principal regional & international organizations., African studies associations, foundations, donor agencies, & network organizations supporting African studies research &/or active in Africa, details about awards & prizes, and listings of abbreviations & acronyms in African studies.
Request Material in PittCat
You can request material through PittCat using Get It, even for material that we do not own. You must be signed in and then click on the item you need. Options within the item:
Request This Item
Use this to request print materials from a Pitt library or ULS - Thomas Blvd. for No-Contact Pick-Up or Home Delivery. After finding a book, click on the item, then look for Get It, Request, and follow the prompts.
Request a Scan
Use this to request a scanned book chapter or an article. After finding an article or to request a book chapter, click on the item, then look for Get It, Request, and follow the prompts.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
If you identify an item in PittCat that is not available through our collections, you can request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
If you have any questions about this, please contact us so we can work with you to try and get the material you need.
PITTCat+is the gateway searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library system (ULS), including articles, books, e-books, journals, e-journals, e-audio and e-video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.
You must be logged in remotely to access the full text of any e-resources from off-campus. Use Web Connect for the fastest connection.
Country Profiles - Reference Sources
Countries and Their Cultures by
Call Number: EBOOK or Hillman Reference Desk GN307 .C68 2001
This 4 volume set written by team of anthropologists and social scientists takes a close look at more than 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture -- every bit as much as geographic borders -- defines and separates the nations of the world. Each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations are surveyed -- from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts. Lavishly illustrated with more than 1,000 photographs and more than 200 maps.
Profiles range from 10 to 40+ pages in length.
Political Risk Yearbook
Call Number: Hillman Reference JC330.2 P6 (8 volumes)
This 8 volume encyclopedia (updated yearly) examines individual countries, and critically analyzes each country's government, economics and international relations.
Profiles vary from 50-75 pages. **Individual country reports available ONLINE -- search PittCat+ for "Political Risk Yearbook", and and the specific country name.
Political Handbook of the World
Call Number: EBOOK or Hillman Reference JF37 P76
Archival online yearbooks back to 2005.
Detailed political profiles of countries generally 5-10 pages.
Country Reports by
Call Number: ONLINE reports
Provides comparative economic indicators and high quality country profiles and analyses. **Individual country reports available ONLINE. Search PittCat+ for "country reports" and the specific country name.
CIA World Fact Book
Call Number: EBOOK or Hillman Reference Desk PrEx 3.15
Archival online yearbooks back to 1992.
Contains nice concise (2-3 pages) profiles of countries including the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries.
Statesman's Yearbook by
Call Number: EBOOK or Hillman Reference JA51 S79
Archival online yearbooks back to 1864.
Part 1 is profiles of International Organizations. Part 2 is Country Profiles. Includes SOME city data and profiles, (Tokyo, Bombay, Chicago…)lots of detailed country info, statistics and narrative (generally 5-8 pages). Also available as a database which is a dictionary of entries on countries, world leaders, cities, and institutions.
Africana / African American Studies Books
Africana Studies: A Survey of Africa And the African Diaspora
Call Number: Hillman DT16.5 .A35 2005
This comprehensive text covers issues related to Africa and the Diaspora in the US, the Caribbean, Afro-Latin-America, and elsewhere. Topics include the slave trade, economics, women, health, terrorism, the African Union, ... as well as the recent theories and methods in Africana studies.
The book is divided into five parts: the state of the art of Africana studies; the evolution of the history of black people; analysis of the contributions of the black world; the present and future status of these peoples; and the societies and values of black people. The book also includes a chronology of significant events in the history of peoples of African descent and a number of maps.
Introduction to African American Studies: Transdisciplinary Approaches and Implication by
Call Number: Titusville E184.7 .A52 2007
Is African American Studies (AAS) a discipline, or a multidisciplinary or an interdisciplinary field. "Discipline" scholars use a well-defined common approach to examine history, politics, and the family -- as scholars in the disciplines of economics, sociology, and political science do. "Multidisciplinary" scholars employ a variety of disciplinary lenses-be they anthropological, psychological, historical, etc., --to study the African world experience. "Interdisciplinary" scholars generate distinctive analyses by combining perspectives from different traditional disciplines and synthesizing them into a unique framework of analysis.
The African Diaspora and the Study of Religion by
Call Number: Hillman Afro BL2400 .A417 2007
Scholars examine religion as related to Arican diaspora studies. Topics include: building racial identity in diverse national settings (Brazil, Mexico, Britain, North America); new religious movements and nationalism; alternative religious narratives and literature read through the lens of diaspora; trans-Atlantic culture (i.e. Ethiopia in Rastafarianism); and the role of the scholar and scholarship in the construction of religious and political meaning.
Integrating Africa: Decolonization Sovereignty and the African Union by
Call Number: Available Online
Publication Date: 2012-08-21
Despite several attempts to build the "United States of Africa" union, the AU remains an intergovernmental organization, as countries are unwilling to pool their national sovereignties. Examines why Africa’s integration process has not moved towards a supranational organization; and provides a systematic analysis of the AU from the perspective of 8 member states -- includes 8 comprehensive case studies: Algeria, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Mauritius, South African, Swaziland, Uganda and Zimbabwe to help understand their foreign policy and provide key insights into why they are (un)willing to yield sovereignty.
Countries and Their Cultures by
Call Number: Hillman Reference Desk GN307 .C68 2001
A team of anthropologists and social scientists have taken a close look at more than 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture -- every bit as much as geographic borders -- defines and separates the nations of the world. Using a standard entry format for easy comparison, each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations are surveyed -- from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts. Lavishly illustrated with more than 1,000 photographs and more than 200 maps.