This library guide was created to identify and collect expressions of queerness and sexuality within the Latinx community in the Archives & Special Collections at the University of Pittsburgh Library System. This guide aims to provide unique and readily available examples of the Latinx community in the American underground press. The guide also allows a commonly silenced community to be heard on their complex issues of belonging, traditional familial and societal influences, immigration, and the intersection of these struggles with their sexual identity. Please reference the bibliography or the archival examples below to discover Latinx stories, voices, and emotions. 

Newsline: People with AIDS Coalition of New York - “Newsline” was a non-profit organization journal with the aim to spread information on the emerging HIV/AIDS epidemic in the mid-1980s to the 90s. The journal published national and international news, educational articles, profiles on prominent members who had HIV, and personal news stories. Due to rising cases and the general population in New York, much of the focus was on Latinx individuals. Several advocates wrote articles about the Latinx experience with HIV, their unique experience of social acceptance, building families, and being queer. The journal gave different communities the opportunity to express their journey with AIDS/HIV, which makes “Newsline” a powerful archival material. 

Off Our Backs - 

“Off Our Backs” was a radical feminist news journal with entries written and published by other feminists. The issues referenced in the bibliography had entries about migrant women’s experience with physical and sexual violence and Latinx expression around sexuality and performance. The same issues mainly discussed injustice or violence, but nothing really resonated with queerness. Though the news journal made sure to advocate for those who couldn’t advocate for themselves, it still skimmed over the struggles of women of color. Nonetheless, “Off Our Backs”  spoke about important issues and sought to speak to the Latinx community members. 

Out - 

“Out” was a local gay newspaper founded and published in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Though this media was mainly focused on the local population, a couple of issues are referenced in the bibliography about gay Cuban refugees in the early 1980s. The issues referenced in the bibliography were all written by European Americans, leading to these writers speaking for gay Cuban refugees. They make historical references to the Castro dictatorship in Cuba and describe the abuse and mistreatment the gay refugees went through. The later issues also glimpse at the intolerance of differences in queer sexual identification and discrimination towards the Latinx community. 

While reviewing archival material, the search for Latinx identities can span from simple to complicated when looking for their historical/personal experiences. The possibility of encountering a European American voice speaking for Latinx individuals is high. This situation should not be discouraging because it is important to acknowledge and reference these writings as evidence of queer existence in the Latinx community. Another consideration to remember is how the subject was considered taboo until recently. 

If archival material is specific to the Latinx community, like newspapers or outreach flyers, the priority would be to practice close reading to find evidence of sexuality and/or queerness. Articles in this archival material might be in English or Spanish, which might require the reader to reference possible keywords written below. 

If archival material is focused on sexuality/queerness, the priority would be to practice slow/close reading to identify Latinx individuals and experiences. Through the Archives & Special Collections at the University of Pittsburgh, it is more likely to scan through English material focused on this topic. The reader might find the keywords below helpful to scan for labels or problematic terminology for Latinx individuals. 

When scanning archival material, it is possible to find first and last names that resemble those used in Latinx families. There is no room for assumption if the author does not identify themselves or those they write about. A possible solution to this problem would be for the author’s biography inside the archival material (which could be found in the table of contents, the back cover, or the introduction to the piece), search for the individual’s online presence or an obituary, or search for the name origin. 

Some keywords for this topic are expansive and can be problematic. When searching for Latinx individuals, keywords could include Latino/a/x/e, Chicano/a/x/e, illegal, undocumented, alien, ethnic-specific names (Mexican, Brazilian, Cuban, etc.), and country-specific names (Mexico, Brazil, Cuba). Keywords around sexuality and/or queerness include queer-specific labels in English (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, etc.), queer-specific labels in Spanish (Lesbiana, Gay, Bisexual), ‘maricon,’ and ‘joto/joteria'.

Norma Alarcón – Chicana academic who focused on Chicana feminist studies by contributing through several pieces of theoretical literature. Some common themes in her writing include expressions of sexuality, gender expectations, and nationalism.

David Tenorio - Latinx scholar and activist who focuses on queer cultures within Mexican and Cuban communities through theoretical literature. Some common themes in their writing include queerness, belonging, and eroticism. 

Gloria E. Anzaldúa – Chicana scholar, activist, and poet who focused on Chicana feminism and queer studies through poetry, theoretical and fictional literature. Some common themes in her writing include sexuality, gender expectations, and queerness.

Lionel Cantú Jr. – Chicano author who focuses on queerness and Latin American immigration through theoretical literature. Some common themes in his writing include queer issues, sexuality, identity, and immigration. 

Cherríe Moraga - Chicana author, activist, and poet who focused on Chicana feminism, queerness, and social justice through published essays and poetry. Some common themes in her writing include feminism and lesbianism. 

João Nemi Neto - Brazilian author and scholar who focuses on Brazilian queerness and expression through theoretical literature. Some common themes in his writing include queer bodies and queer cinema through Brazilian literature and media.