Books - Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies Program - Pittsburgh Campus

Finding Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies Books

The University of Pittsburgh Library System has many books that cover the various subjects within the field of women's studies.

Borrowing Policies
The policies of the Hillman Library lending department including length of loans and renewing options.

PittCat

PittCat is the main searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library System (ULS), including articles, books, ebooks, journal articles, ejournals, audio and video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.

PittCat
Access PittCat directly or use the ULS homepage.

Searching for Books in PittCat

Enter your query in the text box in PittCat and press enter or click the green magnifying glass.
You can choose to search just the Library Catalog.
In the central panel, you will get search results, ranked by relevance.
Click on a result for a full view with holding information.
Add terms to narrow your search.

Refine

Refine your search results by clicking on any term on the left to focus and narrow your results.
Refine to Books under Resource Type.
Refine to your library by clicking it under Library.

Ebooks and Reference Books Online

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
The ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection is an online repository of full-text, digital books. Extensive insight to field of history, women's studies, religion and performance arts.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
These aggregated collections cover academic disciplines including business and economics, computers, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
eBook Collection by EBSCO This link opens in a new window
The eBook Collection by EBSCO has over 300,000 unlimited user EBSCO eBooks, from 855 parent publishers and 3,303 imprints, across the following areas:

• Academic
• Business
• Community College
• Diversity & Ethnic Studies
• Education
• Engineering
• History
• Medical
• Nursing
• Public Library
• Psychology & Psychiatry
• Religion
• Spanish & Portuguese
• University Press

Reference Books in Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies

The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History by editor Howard Chiang
Publication Date: 2019
A three-volume set providing a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide. Wide-ranging in scope, this encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, literature, psychology, sociology and others.
LGBTQ America Today by John C. Hawley (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009
A current guide to the people and issues at the forefront of contemporary LGBTQ America. Included are more than 600 alphabetically arranged entries on literature and the arts, associations and organizations, individuals, law and public policy concerns, health and relationships, sexual issues, and numerous other topics. Entries are written by distinguished authorities and cite works for further reading, and the encyclopedia closes with a selected, general bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America
Publication Date: 2004
Three volume set that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Wide-ranging in scope, this new encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.
Gender by Harriet Bradley
Call Number: HQ1075 .B73 2013
Gender issues continue to be a prominent concern of academics and policy-makers, and increasingly arise in various forms to be debated in the public sphere and popular media. But what exactly do we mean by gender? How can we best understand gender differences? How are current gender relations changing? What new paths are 'femininity' and 'masculinity' taking? What would it be like to live in a society in which differences of gender were transcended? In this new edition of her popular and highly lauded book, Harriet Bradley provides an introduction to the concept of gender and the different theoretical approaches which have developed within gender studies.
Sex, Gender and Sexuality by Abby L. Ferber; Kimberly Holcomb; Tre Wentling
Call Number: HQ21 .S47165 2013
Pushing the boundaries of traditional sex, gender, and sexuality theories, the second edition of this edited volume brings together classic and cutting-edge works that engage, challenge, and excite. The front-and-center list of Key Terms will prove indispensable. This fantastic resource brings together sex, gender, and sexuality through the prism of race, ethnicity, religion, ability, age, and class.
Illuminating How Identities, Stereotypes and Inequalities Matter Through Gender Studies by D. Nicole Farris (Editor); Mary Ann Davis (Editor); D'Lane R. Compton (Editor)
This collection highlights and extends contemporary women's and gender studies by presenting theoretical analyses and innovative research conceptualizations, applications and methodologies via a diverse variety of popular-in-the-classroom topics, such as changing masculinities; comedic/dramatic portrayals of ethnicity and discrimination; stigma and differences within mainstream media gender stereotypes; intersections of gendered and sexual identities in social media and fundamental institutions. These topics emphasize relevant issues and nuances within popular culture, identities and perceptions and social problems and illustrate the breadth of gender studies and its applications.

Scholarly Materials on Gender & Feminism

Sylvia (Search for Books)
From the University of Wisconsin - Madison Libraries. If you see a title you are interested in, check our holdings in PittCat.
more...less...
Inspired by Sylvia Plath's tenacity and curiosity, this growing resource of hand-selected entries identifies recent books for researchers, scholarly editions, selected memoirs, and notable works for a general audience. Records include citations that can be copied and inclusive subject categories linked to related material.
Dorothy (Film & Media)
From the University of Wisconsin - Madison Libraries. If you see a title you are interested in, check our holdings in PittCat.
more...less...
Named for prominent Dorothys, this database collects production details for films and television programs mainly produced since 2010. Projects directed or created by women and key topics in gender and women's studies are central to this expanding resource curated for diversity. Updated regularly, Dorothy incorporates comprehensive options for researching documentaries, dramas and comedies, television shows, and educational films.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides