Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Archives Related to GSWS
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940
Consists of 20 individual collections and 1.5 million pages. The bulk of documents are between 1950 to 1990 with all coverage from 1940 to 2014. Four collections are sourced from the Lesbian Herstory Archives; two are sourced from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Historical Society. Others are sourced from the New York Public Library; the London School of Economics; and from the National Institutes of Health.
GLBT History: Online Collections
The GLBT Historical Society collects, preserves, exhibits and makes accessible to the public materials and knowledge to support and promote understanding of LGBTQ history, culture and arts in all their diversity.
ONE: National Gay and Lesbian Archive
The oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers. A small subset of this material has been digitized and is available online.
A digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
LGBT materials in the New York Public Library
The International Gay Information Center (IGIC) archives, along with other archives and collections subsequently donated to the NYPL, such as the Barbara Gittings and Kay Tobin Lahusen Gay History Papers and Photographs, comprehensively document the gay and lesbian civil rights struggles in New York since the 1950s and have made NYPL one of the most important archives of LGBT history in the United States.
ACT UP Oral History Project
The purpose of this project is to present comprehensive, complex, human, collective, and individual pictures of the people who have made up ACT UP/New York. These men and women of all races and classes have transformed entrenched cultural ideas about homosexuality, sexuality, illness, health care, civil rights, art, media, and the rights of patients.
Invisible Histories: LGBTQ in the American Southeast
The Invisible Histories Project is designed to be a repository for the preservation of the history of LGBTQ life first in the state of Alabama and then the entire Southeast.
OutHistory.org was founded in October 2008 by Jonathan Ned Katz, author of the groundbreaking Gay American History (1976) and other books on the history of sexuality. It is a public history online archive open to personal collections.
Lavender Legacies: Guide to LGBTQ archives by US State
This is the first formal and comprehensive guide to primary source material relating to the history and culture of lesbian, bisexual, gay, and transgendered (LBGT) people held by repositories in North America.
LGBTQ Religious Archives Network (LGBTQ-RAN)
A venture in preserving history and encouraging scholarly study of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) religious movements around the world.
Bay Area Reporter Archives
The Bay Area Reporter is the oldest continuously published lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer weekly newspaper in the United States and is the highest circulation publication serving the LGBTQ communities of the San Francisco Bay Area. Founded in 1971, the Bay Area Reporter is known for its original reporting on news, culture and entertainment relevant to LGBTQ people. The newspaper is published every Thursday by BAR Media, Inc., and the print edition is distributed free of charge in San Francisco and other Bay Area cities.
Queer Zine Archive Project: QZAP: Zine Archive
The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.
LGBT History in Government Documents
Maintained by librarians at UC San Diego, this is a list of legal and government documents related to LGBT history.
Women's Movement and Feminism Archives
Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America
Documents the lives of women of the past and present for the future and furthers the Radcliffe Institute's commitment to women, gender, and society.
Laura X Archives
Features documents, media, and other materials collected by Laura X aka Laura Rand Orthwein, Jr., over the last fifty years, pertaining to the women's movement and a wide array of precursors and overlapping social movements from the second half of the 20th century, with special emphasis on how the women's movement established women’s rights as human rights, including materials from Laura X's successful state by state campaign to abolish the legal privilege for marital and date rape.
Herstory Microfilm Collection table of contents
The individual microfilm are held in Pitt's collection.
Women's Liberation Movement Print Culture
From Duke University Digital Collections. Focuses on the Women’s Liberation Movement of the 1960s and 1970s, specifically on feminist print culture.
Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party
Contains photographs documenting the activities of this militant organization in the woman’s suffrage movement, 1890-1930.
The Lesbian Herstory Archives
Home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities
Archives of Lesbian Oral Testimony
ALOT digitizes and makes available online oral histories and testimony of same-sex and same-gender attracted women, inclusive of Two Spirit, queer, bisexual, and lesbian women, transmen, and others.
Digital Transgender Archive
An online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.
National Transgender Library & Archives
The National Transgender Library and Archive (NTL&A), a vast repository of materials documenting the history of the transgender movement, is now part of University of Michigan's University Library and includes books, journals, photographs, films, video and audio tapes, and correspondence collected over a 20-year span by Dallas Denny, an active participant in the movement. When the collection outgrew its home in Atlanta, Ga., the Gender Education and Advocacy (GEA) donated the archive to U-M.
The Transgender Archives at the University of Victoria in Canada has committed to the preservation of the history of pioneering activists, community leaders, and researchers who have contributed to the betterment of trans, non-binary, and Two-Spirit people. Since 2007, they have been actively acquiring documents, rare publications, and memorabilia of persons and organizations associated with activism by and for trans, non-binary, and Two-Spirit people.
Kinsey Institute - Print Collections
Homosexuality, polyamory, transgender, sexuality in Asia, and erotica. These are descriptions of the collections, with some digital full-text.
Queer Pulp Paperback Archives
Lesbian Pulp Fiction Collection at Mount Saint Vincent University
The Mount Saint Vincent collection of lesbian pulp holds 120 books, and the context provided by Terry Paris includes author and cover artist biographies, recommended further reading, publisher histories, and more. Given the size of this collection, MSVU is an important site to visit for anyone interested in further study of lesbian pulps.
Lesbian & Gay Pulp Fiction at Duke University
Duke University's guide, managed by Laura Micham, provides descriptions and critical context on a handful lesbian and gay pulps, as well as descriptions of common tropes and reader practices. The Secondary Sources section is helpful for readers who want to learn more about these books and the broader context of queer history they are situated within. The Carl V. Corley Papers might also be of interest for those who want to know more about A Lover Mourned, which is held by the Special Collections Department.
Queer Covers: Lesbian Survival Literature at the Lesbian Herstory Archive
The extent of the Lesbian Herstory Archives' online content regarding lesbian pulps is relatively small. However, their storied history of work with preserving lesbian history and narratives is visible through their website and the large collection of pulps housed in New York City. Those interested in lesbian pulps should read their archived newsletters, specifically Newsletter 3 (November 1976) and Newsletter 15 (January 1995).
Pittsburgh and Gender
ULS Digital Collections
The ULS has digitized over 100,000 unique items (that’s over 1.5 million page images!) from several special collecting units, including the Archives & Special Collections and Center for American Music as well as several Pitt Faculty members and regional partner institutions. Note that guides (i.e., finding aids) to our archives and manuscript collections are included here too.
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
Digital Public Library of America
Discover 29 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.