Guides: Engineering Databases: Home

Related Guides & Resources

Business Resources for Engineers
by LaMonica Wiggins Last Updated Sep 5, 2024 1150 views this year
Engineering - Bradford Campus
by Kimberly Bailey Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 37 views this year
Engineering and Computer Science - Johnstown Campus
by James Langan Last Updated Dec 4, 2024 163 views this year
Engineering Databases
by Margarete Bower Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 344 views this year
Entrepreneurship Resources @ Pitt
by LaMonica Wiggins Last Updated Sep 11, 2024 2318 views this year
Experiential Learning and Professional Engagement (ELPE) - Pittsburgh Campus
by Margarete Bower Last Updated Sep 20, 2024 419 views this year
Geographic Information System (GIS) Resources - Pittsburgh Campus
by Boris Michev Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 1466 views this year
Getting Technical Standards @ Pitt
by Margarete Bower Last Updated Sep 20, 2024 384 views this year
Pitt EXCEL Summer Research Internship - Pittsburgh Campus
by Margarete Bower Last Updated Oct 25, 2024 35 views this year
Sustainability @ Pitt
by Chloe Dufour Last Updated Sep 5, 2024 131 views this year
Wellness Resources for STEM Students
by Margarete Bower Last Updated May 4, 2023 156 views this year
Women in STEM Resources @ Pitt
by Kelly Safin Last Updated Nov 26, 2024 184 views this year
Writing a Research Proposal @ Pitt
by Margarete Bower Last Updated Oct 7, 2024 823 views this year

At a Regional Campus?

Contact your regional library for help.

Bradford Campus
Kimberly Bailey, hanold@pitt.edu
Greensburg Campus
Kelly Safin, kab309@pitt.edu
Johnstown Campus
David Kupas, dmk24@pitt.edu
Titusville Campus
Marc Ross, marcross@pitt.edu

Engineering Databases

These databases contain in-depth articles and information on this subject.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.
Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
Access hundreds of the most current leading textbooks, handbooks and reference books, including Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Mark's Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, as well as the entire Schaum's Outline Series.

American Society for Civil Engineers (ASCE) - Electronic Journals
Full-text access to this publisher's collection of journals.

ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Database This link opens in a new window
Published by ASM (the American Society for Metals), this fully searchable online database now contains 40,300 binary and ternary alloy phase diagrams, from over 9,000 systems. With associated crystal and reaction data, the ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Database places this reliable information at your fingertips.
ASM Micrograph Database This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Society for Metals, the ASM Micrograph Database is the most comprehensive micrograph repository available.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Contains the 13,000 ASTM standards, as well as manuals, monographs, data series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and 8 journals -- all of which pertain to the development and application of standards. Not only current issues of journals and publications, but also back issues going back 50yrs.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology worldwide.

Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business: marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more.

Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on engineering successes and failures and is often used in other schools with engineering programs to align with projects, papers, and discussions that focus on ethics. At completion, the collection will contain 250 hours and 50,000 pages of quality documentaries, accident reports, experiments, visualizations, case studies, lectures and interviews from leading engineering institutions around the world. The Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill, Space Shuttle Challenger, and even historical footage and documentation from the Titanic, as well as countless other events, can be found in this resource.
IEEEXplore This link opens in a new window
Access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

Journal Citation Reports
The Journal Citation Reports (JCR) database is a unique and comprehenisive tool providing bibliometric analysis of more than 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology and of 1,500 journals in the social sciences.
Knovel Engineering and Scientific Online References
A database featuring the full text of some of the leading engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings.
OnePetro
OnePetro is an online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production (E&P) industry. It contains more than 145,000 documents produced by 18 publishing partners, including the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE).

Pittsburgh Business Times This link opens in a new window
To access the Pittsburgh Business Times, please register using the following link: Register with the University of Pittsburgh. Once you create an account you will get to a page where you can select the University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Business Times. If you already have an account you can sign in from this page. You may need to go to their account tab and under the Subscriptions, Licenses & Access page there should be a box to select our subscription.
If you encounter any issues with this, please contact the business librarian at chd84@pitt.edu.
Please note that you may need to access this via a non-Chrome browser, as issues have been encountered when using Chrome.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
The Reaxys database provides detailed information on the reactions and properties, including bioactivities, of millions of chemical substances, along with chemical catalog information and literature references. Specialty features such as structure and reaction searching are included.
O'Reilly This link opens in a new window
Ebooks in computer science, information technology, and related fields. Unlimited simultaneous users.

Science Direct
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
SciFinder
Access: Sign In to search (Pittsburgh and Johnstown campuses only.)

See the note below if you have not registered for a SciFinder account yet.
Note: Each user must register for a personal SciFinder account before searching.

It’s advisable to check the instructions before registering and choosing a username and password. You must use a computer connected to the Pitt network and enter your Pitt email address when registering. Searching SciFinder web requires that Java, JavaScript, and cookies be enabled on the computer. If you previously downloaded SciFinder Scholar software to search on your own computer, that software should now be removed.

Please Sign Out when you are finished searching SciFinder.information, as well as the Medline database.

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals and books published by Springer
Synthesis Collection of Technology This link opens in a new window
Collection of 50- to 100-page e-books that synthesize key research and development topics written by leading engineers and scientists in their field. These short e-books provide introductions to new areas for researchers, advanced developers, and students. Formerly known as: Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science.
*Access is available for collections 1-5.

TRID Online
A public-domain, web-based version of the Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) bibliographic database, containing over half a million records of published transportation research and almost 24,000 TRIS records with links to electronic copies of the full-text.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to the three major citation indexes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The WorldCat database is the OCLC Online Union Catalog. It contains more than 450 million records in 484 languages describing items owned by our libraries or 10,000 other libraries around the world.

Engineering Case Studies Online

Additional Databases

American Chemical Society ACS Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 40 ACS journals, covering chemical biology, analytical chemistry, biochemistry, and more.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in the scientific literature, and are available in print and online to individuals, institutions, and consortia throughout the world.
BioOne- Electronic journals This link opens in a new window
BioOne explores economic models and strategic partnerships that balance the needs of all stakeholders, and currently demonstrates this balance by offering financially sustainable information services in the biological sciences. BioOne supports best practices that increase operational effectiveness and technological standards that integrate its content with a global network of scholarly exchange.
Biosis Previews This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Previews combines the content of both Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings), thus providing comprehensive coverage of nearly 5,500 life science journals as well as 1,500 items from international meetings, review articles, books, book chapters, patents, and software reviews.

NTIS - National Technical Information Service
Containing over 3.0 million bibliographic records, the NTIS Bibliographic Database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. The Database represents billions of dollars in research. Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964. On average, NTIS adds over 30,000 new records per year to the Database. Most records include abstracts.
PubMed Central

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Engineering Databases: Home

Related Guides & Resources

At a Regional Campus?

Engineering Databases

Additional Databases