Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Using the Library @ Pitt
Welcome to the ULS!
This guide is meant to help with using library resources and conducting literature reviews as part of the Pitt EXCEL Program. If you have any questions at any time, your personal engineering librarian is here to help!
PittCat is the main searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library System (ULS), including articles, books, ebooks, journal articles, ejournals, audio and video, digital images, government documents, microfilm, movie, and more!
Check out the next few tabs to learn more: Ways to Borrow, Tips for Searching, and Books & eBooks.
Get It: Borrowing from within Pitt
You can request material through PittCat using Get It, even for material that we do not own. You must be signed in, then click on the item you need to see the full menu of options available.
Use 'Request' to receive print materials from a Pitt library or ULS - Thomas Blvd. for No-Contact Pick-Up or Home Delivery.
To make a request:
- Sign into your account in PittCat
- Find the item you want and click on the title
- Look for the Get It, Request options for the title.
- Follow the on-screen options to request your item
- You will be notified via your Pitt email address when the item is available
Additional questions? Please contact us so we can work with you to try and get the material you need.
E-ZBORROW: Borrowing Books from Nearby Academic Libraries
If Pitt Libraries don't have the books you need, you can use E-ZBorrow to request the items from other academic libraries. Borrow an item from one of 70+ other regional libraries -- fast! You will need your Pitt ID number (starts with 2P) to use E-ZBorrow.
- Pick up and return the items at any ULS Library. Items are generally delivered within 4-7 days
- You will be notified via email when the book is available for pickup
- E-ZBorrow items are checked out for six weeks with one six week renewal
- Overdue fines are .25 per day/per item
- The E-ZBorrow system handles requests for books. If you need a photocopy of an article, please request it through ILL (Interlibrary Loan)
- Your Patron ID No. is the number on your PITT ID
Find out more information HERE
INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL): Getting Books & Articles from Other Libraries
If you cannot find the materials you need from Get It or E-ZBorrow, try Interlibrary Loan (ILL). You can order books or articles through this service, that will again be delivered to you for free.
ILL services are available to Pitt students, staff and faculty with a valid Pitt ID and Pitt computing account.
- Articles will be downloadable from your list of requests
- Loans will be visible from your account in PittCat once they arrive
- Loan periods and renewals vary depending on the lending institution
- Loans can be picked up and returned at any ULS library
- Overdue fines are $1 per day per item, with no grace period
- A one-time user registration is required before making an ILL request. You will not need to re-enter personal information every time you make a request
- Items borrowed via ILL will be available for no-contact pickup on campus, but we are unable to ship them directly to you
Find out more information HERE
REQUEST: Ask Us to Buy a Book
If we don't have what you are looking for, you can request that a book be purchased and added to the collection. Fill out the form, or contact your liaison librarian, Judy Brink.
Tips for Searching PittCat:
- Sign In to your Pitt Account with your Pitt email and password to ensure you have access to everything the catalog offers.
- Enter your Search Terms and click on the magnifying glass search button. PittCat will offer search for variations of your search terms.
- Results will include Articles, Books, E-materials, Reviews, and more! Click on the title of an item for more detailed information, such as an abstract or the location of a book.
- Customize Your Search by using the filters on the left. Narrow your results to resource type, library, publication date, subject, etc.
- Access Online Resources for particular items by clicking on the item title or the "Available Online" link. Note: Not all items are available online.
Finding Full-Text with Google Scholar:
Learn how to set up Library Links through Google Scholar to access full-text content.
Searching for eBooks in PittCat:
Follow these steps to access PittCat,
- From the ULS homepage, select the large Search bar in the center of the page
- Enter your search terms as you would in any search engine (e.g. Google) and hit enter
- Using the filters to the left of the results screen, refine by content type "Available Online" and click "Apply Filters"
- Use the additional filters to further narrow your search
Finding Engineering Books:
In addition to the Bevier Engineering Library, books that may be relevant to your research might also be found at other ULS libraries or the ULS Storage Facility. If you would like to send a book to the Engineering Library from another ULS Library, use the Get It function on the item record page.
- Sign In with your Pitt username and password (if you haven't already)
- Click Request Item
- Choose your desired Pick Up Location or Delivery Option
- Send Request
*Please note that to request a book from the Health Sciences Library System (Falk Library), you will need to submit an Interlibrary Loan request*
eBook Providers @ Pitt:
Pitt has a variety of eBooks from the following vendors, each of which can be searched by subject. See the eBooks @ Pitt guide for more information.
Use SpringerLink to find electronic books and handbooks. To browse books, select your sub-discipline. You can also limit to a specific date range and content type.
Knovel Engineering and Scientific Online References
Database of the fulltext of some of the leading engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings, including Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, and the Civil Engineer's Handbook.
We currently subscribe to a small number of Elsevier reference works and book series through ScienceDirect. To access the list, click on "Books" on the top of the landing page and filter by "Full-text access" under "All access types".
eBook Collection by EBSCO
Consists of thousands of scholarly, reference, and professional full-text books in electronic format from the world's leading university presses and commercial publishers, and includes such popular series as the Idiots and Dummies Guides.
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
These aggregated collections cover academic disciplines including business and economics, computers, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
Ebooks in computer science, information technology, and related fields. Unlimited simultaneous users.