Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
(Pitt users only) From ProQuest, it includes access to many full-text Congressional documents, reports, laws, regulations, and hearings.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
(Pitt users only) The US Congressional Serial Set contains all of the US Senate and House of Representatives Reports, Documents, and Journals and constitutes a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 13,800 volumes and over 12 million pages and will cover the time period 1817 through 1994.
Information about members, functions, and legislative activity of the U.S. Senate.
House of Representatives
Information about members, functions, and legislative activitiy of the U.S. House of Representatives.
Congressional Record Daily Edition
The Congressional Record (CR) is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. Govinfo contains Congressional Record Daily Edition volumes from 140 (1994) to the present.
Congressional Record Bound Edition
At the end of each session of Congress, all of the daily editions are collected, re-paginated, and re-indexed into a permanent, bound edition. Govinfo contains the Congressional Record Bound Edition v. 1 (1873) to v.161 (2015), with some gaps in coverage.
Congressional Documents on govinfo
The Congressional Documents collection from govinfo consists of House Documents, Senate Documents, and Senate Treaty Documents from 1975 to the present, though there are gaps in coverage.
Congressional Hearings on govinfo
A hearing is a meeting or session of a Senate, House, joint, or special committee of Congress, usually open to the public, to obtain information and opinions on proposed legislation, conduct an investigation, or evaluate/oversee the activities of a government department or the implementation of a Federal law.
United States Code
It is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 51 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives.
U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875
A product of the Library of Congress' American Memory project, this site compiles documents from the nation's first century.
United States Statutes at Large
The United States Statutes at Large, typically referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. This collection features materials from 1951-2012.
Official CRS Reports Website
In 2018, Congress passed a law directing the creation of this site and ending the legal requirement prohibiting CRS from providing its products to the public. No pre-2018 reports are currently available.
UNT Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
From the University of North Texas, this site is not affiliated with the Congressional Research Service, but aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990.
Every CRS Report
EveryCRSReport.com is a project of Demand Progress in collaboration with the Congressional Data Coalition — a bipartisan coalition founded by Demand Progress and the R Street Institute to promote open legislative information.
Government Accountability Office (GAO)
The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.
Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
The CBO produces independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. Each year, the agency’s economists and budget analysts produce dozens of reports and hundreds of cost estimates for proposed legislation.