Most print books are located in Owen Library's General Collection unless noted differently. Some print titles also may be accessible as an ebook using the link provided and some ebooks may have print copies at other Pitt libraries that can be requested through PittCat, our online catalog. Non-Pitt affiliated individuals are welcome to use the library's resources in-house. If you have trouble locating a book, please stop by our Information Desk on the 1st floor for assistance.
Black Appetite. White Food: Issues of Race, Voice, and Justice Within and Beyond the Classroom by
Black Appetite. White Food.invites educators to explore the nuanced manifestations of white privilege as it exists within and beyond the classroom. Renowned speaker and author Jamila Lyiscott provides ideas and tools that teachers, school leaders, and professors can use for awareness, inspiration, and action around racial injustice and inequity. Part I of the book helps you ask the hard questions, such as whether your pedagogy is more aligned with colonialism than you realize and whether you are really giving students of color a voice. Part II offers a variety of helpful strategies for analysis and reflection. Each chapter includes personal stories, frank discussions of the barriers you may face, and practical ideas that will guide you as you work to confront privilege in your classroom, campus, and beyond.　
Building Political Relationships with Students: An Aspect of Social Justice Pedagogy (BOOK CHAPTER) by
Teaching is is a difficult, knowledge-intensive endeavour, requiring multiple knowledges, but rarely do we consider what, specifically, teachers need to know and do to teach for social justice. I argue here that building “political relationships” with students is key and illustrate these through examining aspects of several teachers' pedagogy. I also claim that what other subject-area teachers can do, mathematics teachers can also. Despite different contexts and specificities, there are common elements of critiquing knowledge, challenging oppression, and standing in solidarity with students, their families, and their communities. These elements support the development of students' sociopolitical consciousness and sense of social agency as they grow into becoming change agents in the struggles for their own liberation
Classroom Communication and Diversity: Enhancing Instructional Practice by
Classroom Communication and Diversity provides a useful framework for helping both new and experienced teachers and instructors navigate the communication challenges in today's diverse classroom. It encourages teachers to reflect on how their personal cultures influence their expectations regarding classroom communication. This textbook is distinctive in its distillation of research from numerous sources to provide the best viewpoint and systems for focusing on the needs of the individual learner. Dana L. Powell and Robert G. Powell draw on research in both the communication and education disciplines, and provide useful strategies for improving teaching practices alongside theoretical models regarding diversity in the classroom. Much of the information found in this text is also inspired by the authors' direct experience in schools and from the experience they have gleaned from other first-line instructors as well as from parents and children. Among the many updates to this Third Edition are: Expanded coverage of students with diverse needs Discussion on working effectively with parents Coverage of cultural influences and the impact of race and ethnicity on disciplinary actions Examination of the role of social media and its impact on instructional communication The increase of educational technology use. Teachers and scholars in the communication and education fields will find this text practical and valuable for their teaching efforts, and it is appropriate for instructional communication courses in both disciplines.
College Students' Sense of Belonging: A Key to Educational Success for All Students by
This book explores how belonging differs based on students' social identities, such as race, gender, sexual orientation, or the conditions they encounter on campus. Belonging--with peers, in the classroom, or on campus--is a critical dimension of success at college. It can affect a student's degree of academic adjustment, achievement, aspirations, or even whether a student stays in school. The 2nd Edition of College Students' Sense of Belonging explores student sub-populations and campus environments, offering readers updated information about sense of belonging, how it develops for students, and a conceptual model for helping students belong and thrive. Underpinned by theory and research and offering practical guidelines for improving educational environments and policies, this book is an important resource for higher education and student affairs professionals, scholars, and graduate students interested in students' success. New to this second edition: A refined theory of college students' sense of belonging and review of current literature in light of new and emerging theories; Expanded best practices related to fostering sense of belonging in classrooms, clubs, residence halls, and other contexts; Updated research and insights for new student populations such as youth formerly in foster care, formerly incarcerated adults, and homeless students; Coverage on a broad range of topics since the first edition of this book, including cultural navigation, academic spotting, and the "shared faith" element of belonging.
Culturally Responsive Teaching and Reflection in Higher Education by
Culturally Responsive Teaching and Reflection in Higher Education explores how postsecondary educators can develop their own cultural awareness and provide inclusive learning environments for all students. Discussing best practices from the Cultural Literacy Curriculum Institute at Lesley University, faculty and administrators who are committed to culturally responsive teaching reflect on how to create an inclusive environment and how educators can cultivate the skills, attitudes, and knowledge necessary for implementing culturally responsive curriculum and pedagogy. Rather than a list of "right answers," essays in this important resource integrate discussion and individual reflection to support educators to enhance skills for responding effectively to racial, cultural, and social difference in their personal and professional contexts. This book is as an excellent starting point or further enrichment resource to accompany program or institutional diversity and inclusion efforts.
Diversity Across the Curriculum: A Guide for Faculty in Higher Education by
This practical guide will empower even the busiest faculty members to create culturally inclusive courses and learning environments. In a collection of more than 50 vignettes, exceptional teachers from a wide range of academic disciplines--health sciences, humanities, sciences, and social sciences--describe how they actively incorporate diversity into their teaching. Different strategies discussed include a role-model approach, creating a safe space in the classroom, and the cultural competency model. Written for teaching faculty in all disciplines of higher education, this book offers practical guidance on culturally inclusive course design, syllabus construction, textbook selection, and assessment strategies. In addition, examples of diversity initiatives are detailed at six institutions: Duquesne University, Emerson College, St. Louis Community College, University of Connecticut, University of Maryland University College, and University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill. This book also contains an overview of the following areas: Diversity as an integral component of college curricula Structuring diversity-accessible courses Practices that facilitate diversity across the curriculum Diversity and disciplinary practices
Expanding the Circle: Creating An Inclusive Environment in Higher Education for LGBTQ Students and Studies by
Examines strategies and best practices that effectively integrate LGBTQ areas of teaching and research with student life activities.
Integrating Mindfulness into Anti-Oppression Pedagogy: Social Justice in Higher Education by
Drawing from mindfulness education and social justice teaching, this book explores an anti-oppressive pedagogy for university and college classrooms. Authentic classroom discussions about oppression and diversity can be difficult; a mindful approach allows students to explore their experiences with compassion and to engage in critical inquiry to confront their deeply held beliefs and value systems. This engaging book is full of practical tips for deepening learning, addressing challenging situations, and providing mindfulness practices in anti-oppression classrooms. Integrating Mindfulness into Anti-Oppression Pedagogy is for all higher education professionals interested in pedagogy that empowers and engages students in the complex unlearning of oppression.
Power, Privilege and Education Pedagogy, Curriculum, and Student Outcomes by
This book provides meaningful perspectives on the dynamics of power and privilege in education. The authors offer recommendations and policy considerations that are aimed at increasing social justice in education and improving student performance and student outcomes.
Promoting Diversity and Social Justice: Educating People from Privileged Groups by
Promoting Diversity and Social Justice provides theories, perspectives, and strategies that are useful for working with adults from privileged groups--those who are in a more powerful position in any given type of oppression. The thoroughly revised edition of this accessible and practical guide offers tools that allow educators to be more reflective and intentional in their work--helping them to consider who they're working with, what they're doing, why they're doing it and how to educate more effectively. New features include: A new chapter, "The Joy of Unlearning Privilege/Oppression," highlights specific ways people from privileged groups benefit from unlearning privilege/oppression and from creating greater equity. A new chapter, "Allies and Action," gives focus and guidance on how people from privileged groups can constructively and appropriately be involved in social change efforts. Updated Appendix of additional resources. The theories and approaches discussed can be applied to a range of situations and audiences. This book is an excellent resource for professors, diversity trainers, teachers in classrooms and workshops, counselors, organizers, student affairs personnel, community educators, advocates, group facilitators, and any others involved with educating about diversity and equity.
Teaching for Diversity and Social Justice by
For twenty years, Teaching for Diversity and Social Justice has been the definitive sourcebook of theoretical foundations, pedagogical and design frameworks, and curricular models for social justice teaching practice. Thoroughly revised and updated, this third edition continues in the tradition of its predecessors to cover the most relevant issues and controversies in social justice education in a practical, hands-on format. Filled with ready-to-apply activities and discussion questions, this book provides teachers and facilitators with an accessible pedagogical approach to issues of oppression in classrooms.　 The revised edition also focuses on providing students the tools needed to apply their learning about these issues. Features new to this edition include: A new bridging chapter focusing on the core concepts that need to be included in all SJE practice and illustrating ways of "getting started" teaching foundational core concepts and processes. A new chapter addressing the possibilities for adapting social justice education to online and blended courses. Expanded overview sections that highlight the historical contexts and legacies of oppression, opportunities for action and change, and the intersections among forms of oppression. Added coverage of key topics for teaching social justice issues, such as establishing a positive classroom climate, institutional and social manifestations of oppression, the global implications of contemporary SJE work, and action steps for addressing injustice. New and revised material for each of the core chapters in the book complemented by fully-developed online teaching designs, including over 150 downloadables, activities, and handouts on the book's Companion Website (www.routledgetextbooks.com/textbooks/_author/teachingfordiversity). A classic for teachers across disciplines, Teaching for Diversity and Social Justice presents a thoughtful, well-constructed, and inclusive foundation for engaging students in the complex and often daunting problems of discrimination and inequality in American society.
Transforming Higher Education Through Universal Design for Learning: An International Perspective by
Providing insight into the background, theory and practical applications of Universal Design for Learning (UDL), Transforming Higher Education through Universal Design for Learning: An International Perspective examines and shares best practice in UDL implementation worldwide to provide strategies for strengthening student accessibility, engagement and learning outcomes through the development of flexible learning environments. Drawing upon insightful, research-based contributions from educators and student service specialists in Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Ireland, Israel, Norway, South Africa, Spain, the UK and all across the USA, this book: considers diversity in the form of disability, minority ethnic groups, gender identities, first generation university students and varying socio-economic backgrounds; brings together key thinkers and actors in the field of UDL and expertly maps its practices to the higher educational domain; explores the multiple means of representation, expression and engagement that combine to create a successful UDL framework. Each chapter not only provides a different perspective of how UDL has helped meet the needs of all students to ensure that education is accessible, culturally responsive and socially just, but also considers how this can then be implemented into higher education environments the world over. This book is a crucial read for those who want to make a positive difference in higher education provision and outcomes. of UDL and expertly maps its practices to the higher educational domain; explores the multiple means of representation, expression and engagement that combine to create a successful UDL framework. Each chapter not only provides a different perspective of how UDL has helped meet the needs of all students to ensure that education is accessible, culturally responsive and socially just, but also considers how this can then be implemented into higher education environments the world over. This book is a crucial read for those who want to make a positive difference in higher education provision and outcomes.
What Does Injustice Have to Do with Me?: Engaging Privileged White Students with Social Justice by
Why should we care about the education of privileged white students? Conversations about education in America focus near-exclusively on underprivileged, majority-minority schools for many important reasons. What Does Injustice Have to Do With Me?, however, argues that such efforts cannot succeed in creating a more just and equitable society without also addressing the students who benefit from America's educational, economic and racial inequities. These young people grow up to wield disproportionate power and influence, yet emerge undereducated and poorly prepared to navigate, let alone shape, our increasingly diverse country. David Nurenberg weaves together narrative from his twenty years of suburban teaching with relevant research in education and critical race theory to provide practical, hands-on strategies for educators dealing with challenges unique to high-powered suburban, urban and independent schools: affluent myopia, white fragility, the empathy gap, overinvolved parents, overcautious administrators and an "if it isn't broke, don't fix it" mentality. Despite high test scores and college acceptances, many schools serving affluent white students are indeed broken. Social justice education for privileged white students is not only critical for our society, but also for helping those students themselves emerge from a culture of anxiety and cynicism to find meaning, purpose and self-confidence as activist allies.
For a complete list of available databases, please visit the ULS' A-Z databases page. Non-Pitt affiliated individuals are welcome to use these resources in-house with a guest log-in. Please stop by our Information Desk on the 1st floor for assistance.
This select list includes articles available freely online and through the library's databases.
