Skip to Main Content

Course & Subject Guides

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
A primary source collection details the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings of the activists themselves. The approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show the full range of their activities in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany.
Trial
Diaolong Database a project of collaborations among scholars from China, Japan and Taiwan. The database is the largest and most comprehensive collections of Chinese ancient books, including over 35,000 volumes of ancient books, 8 billion characters. It covers Chinese and Japanese historical, political, economic, religious, philosophic, literary, ethnic and geographic documents.
There are currently 16 sub-databases, such as Daoist scriptures (Zhengtong daozang), manuscript collections from Dunhuang, the Imperial Encyclopedia (Yongle dadian), the Imperial Library (Gu jin tushu jicheng), historical material on the Qing dynasty, a collection of old Japanese books, the two collectanea Sibu congkan and Sibu beiyao, the Siku quanshu, the Xuxiu siku quanshu, the Siku catalog, banned books from the Siku, and supplemental texts to the Siku.
New
World's largest database of fully determined inorganic crystal structures, from elements to quintenary compounds. It contains about 185,000 structures with 6,000 added annually. Each record includes crystallographic data as well as chemical/physical property data and bibliographic information for the journal article referencing the structure. Note: This resource requires that you enable cookies
Trial
Database reproduces every page of the surviving volumes of Queen Victoria's journals (including draft volumes and copies made by Lord Esher and Princess Beatrice), as high-resolution color images along with separate photographs of the many illustrations and inserts within the pages. Each page is also being meticulously transcribed and re-keyed, allowing for journals to be searched.
New Trial
If you don’t already have a SciFinder account, you should register first using your Pitt email address and a computer connected to the Pitt network.

SciFinder-n is now available to Pitt users for an extended trial. SciFinder-n provides access to all the content of SciFinder plus additional resources and features, including synthesis planning. It has a new interface with new searching options. If you already have a Pitt SciFinder account, just go to the SciFinder-n link and log in with your regular SciFinder credentials.

If you don’t already have a SciFinder account, you should register
first using your Pitt email address and a computer connected to the Pitt network. Once your account is created, you can log into either SciFinder-n or SciFinder with the same username and password.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...