Most print books are located in Owen Library's General Collection unless noted differently. Some print titles also may be accessible as an ebook using the link provided and some ebooks may have print copies at other Pitt libraries that can be requested through PittCat, our online catalog. Non-Pitt affiliated individuals are welcome to use the library's resources in-house. If you have trouble locating a book, please stop by our Information Desk on the 1st floor for assistance.
Allies and Action (BOOK CHAPTER) by
After consciousness-raising and motivating, we need to help people from privileged groups find ways to create change. When students feel empowered to challenge bias and inequality, it reduces feelings of guilt and helplessness, and channels their energy in constructive ways. Yet, just as unlearning oppression is an ongoing process, so is becoming an effective ally. In this chapter, I explore what it means to be an ally, how to develop efficacy as an ally, and options for promoting social justice. I draw on my own experiences and what others have modeled and written (cf. Albrecht & Brewer, 1990; Bishop, 2002; Kivel, 2002; Leondar-Wright, 2005; Raible, 2009; Reason, Broido, Davis & Evans, 2005). Since many of these issues pertain to us as social justice educators as well as the people we work with, I will address the reader directly in several of the sections that offer ideas about taking and sustaining action.
Becoming an Ally and Building Authentic Relationships Across Race: The Challenge and Necessity of Making Race Our Issue (BOOK CHAPTER) by
This chapter is about relationships— some that are across race, some that (for those of us who are white) are same-race relationships. It is about how to be an ally if you are a person with privilege, and it is about what is required to have authentic relationships with someone who is racially different from you.
Through Racism and Homophobia: An Ally's Journey (BOOK CHAPTER) by 
Ending Allies through the Eradication of the Ally (Industrial) Complex (BOOK CHAPTER) by
This chapter suggests the removal of the concept of ally from the lexicon of higher education practitioners and scholars. Through an extension and application of the Indigenous Action Media’s conceptualization of the colonizing Ally Industrial Complex to higher education contexts, the author calls for the eradication of allies and a thriving illness, the ally complex. The ally complex is a disease overtaking society that is based in a driving desire to ally with marginalized groups in order to be good rather than do good. This project is based in a settler colonial and imperial epistemology, frequently referred to as a savior complex. The removal of allies requires an analysis of how power and privilege play out in higher education and a critique of who is allowed to be deemed good because of the actions taken. It also requires an analysis of the ways in which higher education institutions reify the Ally Industrial Complex and support a system that actually harms marginalized communities rather than supports them. Instead of teaching ally development in courses, offering ally trainings, and linking forms of capital with one’s ally identity, the author suggests instead an intersectional and humanistic approach that requires those wishing to engage in solidarity to historicize their understanding of oppression, build foundational knowledge-bases around structural oppression, and ultimately take action by utilizing their privilege/capital to do better.
Moving from Bystander to Ally (BOOK CHAPTER) by
"Whether you are a person relatively new to the notion of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people being “targets” of systemic oppression or a heterosexual person aspiring to be an ally to LGBT communities or a LGBT person who is an ally to groups within the LGBT community, being an ally means taking action on your part."
For a complete list of available databases, please visit the ULS' A-Z databases page. Non-Pitt affiliated individuals are welcome to use these resources in-house with a guest log-in. Please stop by our Information Desk on the 1st floor for assistance.
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
This select list includes articles available freely online and through the library's databases.
For the TED Talks video below, you can access similar videos by hovering over the video and clicking on the TED logo.
