Most print books are located in Owen Library's General Collection unless noted differently. Some print titles also may be accessible as an ebook using the link provided and some ebooks may have print copies at other Pitt libraries that can be requested through PittCat, our online catalog. Non-Pitt affiliated individuals are welcome to use the library's resources in-house. If you have trouble locating a book, please stop by our Information Desk on the 1st floor for assistance.
Ageism: Past, Present, and Future by
Ageism: Past, Present, and Future presents perspectives for understanding ageism and puts ageism in the context of specific social institutions. McNamara and Williamson uniquely provide a number of complementary ways to understand ageism, including social and psychological theories of ageism, economic development, ageism as frame or lens, and ageism at the intersection of various social categories such as gender and race. They then put ageism in the context of mass media, h ealth care, employment, and public policy. This short text is an ideal addition to courses on sociology of aging, social policy, and social problems.
Ageism: Stereotyping and Prejudice Against Older Persons by
Along with race and gender, people commonly use age to categorize - and form stereotypes about - others. Of the three categories, age is the only one in which the members of the in-group (the young) will eventually join the out-group (the old). Although ageism is found cross-culturally, it is especially prevalent in the United States, where most people regard growing older with depression, fear, and anxiety. Older people in the United States are stigmatized and marginalized, with often devastating consequences.
Age Discrimination and Diversity: Multiple Discrimination from an Age Perspective by
This volume of essays is concerned with the discrimination against older people that results from a failure to recognise their diversity. By considering the unique combinations of discrimination that arise from the interrelationship of age and gender, pensions, ethnicity, sexual orientation, socio-economic class and disability, the contributors demonstrate that the discrimination suffered is multiple in nature. It is the combination of these characteristics that leads to the need for more complex ways of tackling age discrimination.
Childism: Confronting Prejudice Against Children by
In this groundbreaking volume on the human rights of children, acclaimed analyst, political theorist, and biographer Elisabeth Young-Bruehl argues that prejudice exists against children as a group and that it is comparable to racism, sexism, and homophobia.
For a complete list of available databases, please visit the ULS' A-Z databases page. Non-Pitt affiliated individuals are welcome to use these resources in-house with a guest log-in. Please stop by our Information Desk on the 1st floor for assistance.
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.
This select list includes articles available freely online and through the library's databases.
Pitt-affiliated individuals may borrow DVDs for a 2-week loan period.
For the TED Talks videos below, you may be provided a list of more resources on the speaker's topic by hovering over the video and clicking on the TED logo.
