Guides: SPARKS: Promoting Diversity &amp; Inclusion at Pitt-Johnstown and the Local Communities: Women &amp; Gender

Gender is a “social category” (like race, social class, and sexual orientation) with characteristics that are constructed, represented, and interpreted within the context of various cultures and societies. Just as discourses of race, class, and sexual orientation have certain social meanings, historical contexts, and consequences, so do discourses about gender. Mass culture, for example, generates images and interpretations of masculinity and femininity that are reinterpreted by people in everyday conversations and social institutions, such as schools, workplaces, and communities, which have a gendered character to their formal and informal operations.

The line between biological sex and gender can be confusing. Gender refers to social categories and characteristics that are related to but not identical to biological sex. Biological sex, or sex, refers to the genetic or biological division of the species into “male” and “female.” Sex differences between people take place because of physiological phenomena such as the arrangements of chromosomes in a fertilized human egg. Gender differences between people occur because of social and cultural phenomena. Ergo, gender may be viewed as the interpretation of the significance of sex.

Schramm-Pate, S. (2014). Gender. In S. Thompson (Ed.), Encyclopedia of diversity and social justice. Rowman & Littlefield Publishers.

Select Sources on Women & Gender

Most print books are located in Owen Library's General Collection unless noted differently. Some print titles also may be accessible as an ebook using the link provided and some ebooks may have print copies at other Pitt libraries that can be requested through PittCat, our online catalog. Non-Pitt affiliated individuals are welcome to use the library's resources in-house. If you have trouble locating a book, please stop by our Information Desk on the 1st floor for assistance.

Beyond the Double Bind: Women and Leadership by Kathleen Hall Jamieson "I can remember," says lawyer Flo Kennedy, "going to court in pants and the judge remarking that I wasn't properly dressed, that the next time I came to court I should be dressed like a lawyer." It was a moment painfully familiar to countless women: a demand that she conform to a stereotype offeminine dress and behavior--which would also mark her as an intruder, rising above her assigned station (as the saying goes, she dared to "wear the pants" in the courtroom). Kennedy took one look at the judge's robe--essentially "a long black dress gathered at the yoke"--and said, "Judge, if youwon't talk about what I'm wearing, I won't talk about what you're wearing."In Beyond the Double Bind, Kathleen Hall Jamieson takes her cue from Kennedy's comeback to argue that the catch-22 that often blocks women from success can be overcome. Sparking her narrative with potent accounts of the many ways women have beaten the double bind that would seem to damn them nomatter what they choose to do, Jamieson provides a rousing and emphatic denouncement of victim feminism and the acceptance of inevitable failure. As she explores society's interlaced traps and restrictions, she draws on hundreds of interviews with women from all walks of life to show the ways theycut through them. Kennedy, for example, faced the bind that insists that women cannot be both feminine and competent--and then demands that they be feminine first; she undermined that trap with wry wit. Ruth Bader Ginsberg attacked the same quandary head-on: when she heard that her law-schoolnickname was "bitch," she replied, "Better bitch than mouse." Jamieson explores the full range of such double binds (the uterus-brain bind, for example--"you can't conceive children and ideas at the same time"; or the assertion, "You are too special to be equal"), offering a roadmap for moving pastthese barricades to advancement. Unlike other breakthrough feminist writers, she finds grounds for optimism in areas ranging from slow improvements in women's earnings to newly effective legal remedies, from growing social awareness to the determination and skill of individual women who are fightingthe double bind.Jamieson is a widely sought-after authority on politics and communications; this book marks a dramatic new departure for her, one certain to win widespread attention. With intensive research and incisive analysis, she provides a landmark account of the binds that ensnare women's lives--and theways they can overcome them.
Call Number: HQ 1237 .J36 1995
ISBN: 0195089405
Publication Date: 1995
Brotopia: Breaking Up the Boys' Club of Silicon Valley by Emily Chang For women in tech, Silicon Valley is not a fantasyland of unicorns, virtual reality rainbows, and 3D-printed lollipops, where millions of dollars grow on trees. It's a "Brotopia," where men hold all the cards and make all the rules. Vastly outnumbered, women face toxic workplaces rife with discrimination and sexual harassment, where investors take meetings in hot tubs and network at sex parties. In this powerful expose, Bloomberg TV journalist Emily Chang reveals how Silicon Valley got so sexist despite its utopian ideals, why bro culture endures despite decades of companies claiming the moral high ground (Don't Be Evil! Connect the World!)-and how women are finally starting to speak out and fight back. Drawing on her deep network of Silicon Valley insiders, Chang opens the boardroom doors of male-dominated venture capital firms like Kleiner Perkins, the subject of Ellen Pao's high-profile gender discrimination lawsuit, and Sequoia, where a partner once famously said they "won't lower their standards" just to hire women. Interviews with Facebook COO Sheryl Sandberg, YouTube CEO Susan Wojcicki, and former Yahoo! CEO Marissa Mayer-who got their start at Google, where just one in five engineers is a woman-reveal just how hard it is to crack the Silicon Ceiling. And Chang shows how women such as former Uber engineer Susan Fowler, entrepreneur Niniane Wang, and game developer Brianna Wu, have risked their careers and sometimes their lives to pave a way for other women. Silicon Valley's aggressive, misogynistic, work-at-all costs culture has shut women out of the greatest wealth creation in the history of the world. It's time to break up the boys' club. Emily Chang shows us how to fix this toxic culture-to bring down Brotopia, once and for all.
Call Number: HD6060.5.U5 C52 2018
ISBN: 9780735213531
Publication Date: 2018
Feminism and Masculinities by Peter F. Murphy (Editor) This Reader provides an international mixture of the best classic foundational pieces and recent key works that investigate masculinity from a feminist perspective. The chapters examine a wide range of topics including gay liberation, the men's movement, black and working-class masculinities,homophobia and the Internet.
Call Number: HQ1090 .F46 2004
ISBN: 0199267243
Publication Date: 2004
Feminism Unfinished: A Short, Surprising History of American Women's Movements by Dorothy Sue Cobble; Linda Gordon; Astrid Henry Eschewing the conventional wisdom that places the origins of the American women's movement in the nostalgic glow of the late 1960s, Feminism Unfinished traces the beginnings of this seminal American social movement to the 1920s, in the process creating an expanded, historical narrative that dramatically rewrites a century of American women's history. Also challenging the contemporary "lean-in," trickle-down feminist philosophy and asserting that women's histories all too often depoliticize politics, labor issues, and divergent economic circumstances, Dorothy Sue Cobble, Linda Gordon, and Astrid Henry demonstrate that the post-Suffrage women's movement focused on exploitation of women in the workplace as well as on inherent sexual rights. The authors carefully revise our "wave" vision of feminism, which previously suggested that there were clear breaks and sharp divisions within these media-driven "waves." Showing how history books have obscured the notable activism by working-class and minority women in the past, Feminism Unfinished provides a much-needed corrective.
Call Number: HQ1421 .C625 2014
ISBN: 9780871406767
Publication Date: 2014
Gender, Bullying, and Harassment: Strategies to End Sexism and Homophobia in Schools by Elizabeth J. Meyer While there have been countless studies of bullying and harassment in schools, none have examined the key gender issues related to these behaviors. In her new book, Meyer does just that and offers readers tangible and flexible suggestions to help them positively transform the culture of their school and reduce the incidences of gendered harassment. The text features sections that speak specifically to administrators, teachers, counselors, student leaders, and community and family members. Integrating research, theory, and practical ideas connected to issues of sex, gender, sexual orientation, bullying, and harassment, this timely book: Defines important terms, such as bullying, (hetero)sexual harassment, sexual-orientation harassment, and harassment because of gender nonconformity. Provides an easy-to-read overview of the legal issues involved in addressing gender and harassment in schooling. Offers an annotated list of educational resources on homophobia, sexual harassment, and bullying, as well as a detailed checklist of steps to aid educators reduce gendered harassment in their schools. Elizabeth J. Meyer is an instructor at McGill University and a researcher at the Centre for the Study of Learning and Performance at Concordia University, Montreal, Quebec.
Call Number: LC212.82 .M49 2009
ISBN: 9780807749548
Publication Date: 2009-04-23
Gender in Organizations: Are Men Allies or Adversaries to Women’s Career Advancement? by Ronald J. Burke (Editor) Diversifying the workforce is becoming increasingly important, with gender equality being a central feature of overall equality. Men seem to be part of the problem and a necessary part of the solution. This collection ties these themes together in the context of talent management and organizational effectiveness.Talented women continue to have difficulty advancing their careers in organizations wordwide. Organizations and their cultures were created by men, for men and reflect the wider patriarchal society. As a consequence, some women are disadvantaged and face barriers to advancement. Burke and Major present an examination of men, masculinity and gendered organizational cultures to get both a better understanding of why women have made such slow progress and ways in which men can become allies and champions of women, supporting their advancement and workplace equality.By taking an unusual approach to the subject of gender equality, this topical book will be a refreshing read for students and academics. It will be of great use to human resource practitioners, managers, policymakers and employers at every level.
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781781955703
Publication Date: 2014
The Glass Ceiling in the 21st Century: Understanding Barriers to Gender Equality by Manuela da Costa Barreto; Michelle K. Ryan; Michael T. Schmitt Psychologists from the US, Canada & the EU explore the reasons why women remain under represented in the upper echelons of organizations across the world. Going beyond social commentary, anecdotal evidence & raw statistics, they seek to explain & offer remedies for this persisting inequality.
Call Number: HD6060 .G63 2009
ISBN: 9781433804090
Publication Date: 2008
Handbook of Studies on Men and Masculinities by Michael S. Kimmel (Editor); Jeff R. Hearn (Editor); Raewyn W. Connell (Editor) The Handbook of Studies on Men and Masculinities is an interdisciplinary and international culmination of the growth of men's studies that also offers insight about future directions for the field. The Handbook provides a broad view of masculinities primarily across the social sciences, with the inclusion of important debates in some areas of the humanities and natural sciences. The various approaches presented in this Handbook range across different disciplines, theoretical perspectives, methodologies, and conceptualizations in relation to the topic of men. Editors Michael S. Kimmel, Jeff Hearn, and Robert W. Connell have assembled an esteemed group of contributors who are among the best-known experts in their particular fields.
Call Number: HQ1090 .H33 2005
ISBN: 0761923691
Publication Date: 2004
Hood Feminism: Notes From the Women that a Movement Forgot by Mikki Kendall Today's feminist movement has a glaring blind spot, and paradoxically, it is women. Mainstream feminists rarely talk about meeting basic needs as a feminist issue, argues Mikki Kendall, but food insecurity, access to quality education, safe neighborhoods, a living wage, and medical care are all feminist issues. All too often, however, the focus is not on basic survival for the many, but on increasing privilege for the few. That feminists refuse to prioritize these issues has only exacerbated the age-old problem of both internecine discord, and women who rebuff at carrying the title. Moreover, prominent white feminists broadly suffer from their own myopia with regard to how things like race, class, sexual orientation, and ability intersect with gender. How can we stand in solidarity as a movement, Kendall asks, when there is the distinct likelihood that some women are oppressing others? In her searing collection of essays, Mikki Kendall takes aim at the legitimacy of the modern feminist movement arguing that it has chronically failed to address the needs of all but a few women. Drawing on her own experiences with hunger, violence, and hypersexualization, along with incisive commentary on politics, pop culture, the stigma of mental health, and more, Hood Feminism delivers an irrefutable indictment of a movement in flux. An unforgettable debut, Kendall has written a ferocious clarion call to all would-be feminists to live out the true mandate of the movement in thought and in deed.
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780525560555
Publication Date: 2020
In Her Place: A Documentary History of Prejudice Against Women by S. T. Joshi The long history of prejudice against women has been the focus of many academic studies, but until now there has been no attempt to collect actual examples of this prejudice from books, articles, and scholarly monographs. In Her Place gathers together dozens of works - mostly by American writers over the past two centuries but also by some European writers who influenced American thought - that embody the scorn and contempt for the "weaker sex" that most women endured for countless generations until very recently. Masterfully edited by S. T. Joshi, who has included brief biographies of the writers as well as footnotes to explain obscure historical, literary, and other allusions, much of this material has never been reprinted since its original publication. As Joshi points out, this is the work, not of a few isolated cranks, but of the leading members of the intellectual, social, and political communities. They published their opinions through prestigious publishers, magazines, and newspapers. Scientists purported to discover physiological evidence for woman’s supposed intellectual deficiencies and their absence of the "creative faculty." Fear of women’s sexuality was a prime motivator of a great deal of prejudice, ranging from disapproval of coeducation to a defense of the double standard of morality, whereby men but not women were permitted sexual dalliance without undue censure. Religion, always a pillar of social conservatism, emphasized women’s subordination to men as a commandment handed down by God. So thorough was men’s indoctrination of sexual prejudice throughout society that even women absorbed it and came to believe in their own inferiority. Reading the unabashed bias against women so evident in these pages brings the entrenched misogyny of American society into vivid focus and makes one appreciate all the more the immense efforts of feminists who for more than a century have worked to overcome the stereotypes of "womanly" behavior long enforced by men.
Call Number: HQ1075 .I52 2006
ISBN: 1591023807
Publication Date: 2006
Men and Masculinity: The Basics by Nigel Edley Men and Masculinity: The Basics is an accessible introduction to the academic study of masculinity which outlines the key ideas and most pressing issues concerning the field today. Providing readers with a framework for understanding these issues, it explores the ways that masculinity has been understood in the Social Sciences and Humanities to date. Addressing theories which view masculinity as being in a permanent state of flux and crisis, it explores such problem areas as: the male body men and work men and fatherhood male sexuality male violence. With a glossary of key terms, case studies reflecting the most important studies in the field of masculinity research and suggestions for further study, Men and Masculinity: The Basics is an essential read for anyone approaching the study of masculinity for the first time.
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781317653691
Publication Date: 2017
The Moment of Lift: How Empowering Women Changes the World by Melinda Gates A debut from Melinda Gates, a timely and necessary call to action for women's empowerment. "How can we summon a moment of lift for human beings - and especially for women? Because when you lift up women, you lift up humanity." For the last twenty years, Melinda Gates has been on a mission to find solutions for people with the most urgent needs, wherever they live. Throughout this journey, one thing has become increasingly clear to her: If you want to lift a society up, you need to stop keeping women down. In this moving and compelling book, Melinda shares lessons she's learned from the inspiring people she's met during her work and travels around the world. As she writes in the introduction, "That is why I had to write this book--to share the stories of people who have given focus and urgency to my life. I want all of us to see ways we can lift women up where we live." Melinda's unforgettable narrative is backed by startling data as she presents the issues that most need our attention--from child marriage to lack of access to contraceptives to gender inequity in the workplace. And, for the first time, she writes about her personal life and the road to equality in her own marriage. Throughout, she shows how there has never been more opportunity to change the world--and ourselves. Writing with emotion, candor, and grace, she introduces us to remarkable women and shows the power of connecting with one another. When we lift others up, they lift us up, too.
Call Number: HQ1155 .G38 2019
ISBN: 9781250313577
Publication Date: 2019
Stand up and Shout Out: Women's Fight for Equal Pay, Equal Rights, and Equal Opportunities in Sports by Joan Steidinger Today, women have greater opportunities to participate in sport than ever before, particularly due to the passage of Title IX in 1972. Yet, despite all this growth, women still struggle to hold leadership positions, become coaches of both girls and boys teams, receive equal pay, and get even adequate coverage in the media. In Stand Up and Shout Out: Women's Fight for Equality in Sports, Joan Steidinger explores the three crucial areas in sport that remain huge concerns for women: leadership, money, and media. Steidinger looks at the number of ways in which women experience vast inequalities by examining topics such as the politics of sport, sexual assault, the #MeToo movement, pay equity, women in coaching positions, and the experiences of women of color and LGBTQ athletes. Interviews with leading authorities in the field and prominent female athletes are interwoven throughout to add both expert and personal perspectives to the conversation. Stand Up and Shout Out does more than just inform readers about these important issues; its purpose is to create enlightened discussions around the unequal treatment of women and present readers with "action steps" so we can all become active contributors toward improving this situation. This is an ideal time to fight for women's equality in sport, as it draws attention to the growing need for advocacy for girls and women around the world in all areas of life.
Call Number: GV709 .S744 2020
ISBN: 9781538125977
Publication Date: 2020
Stop Street Harassment: Making Public Places Safe and Welcoming for Women by Holly Kearl Using groundbreaking studies, news stories, and interviews, this book underscores that there will never be gender equity until men stop harassing women in public spaces--and it details strategies for achieving this goal. Street harassment is generally dismissed as harmless, but in reality, it causes women to feel unsafe in public, at least sometimes. To achieve true gender equality, it must come to an end. Stop Street Harassment: Making Public Places Safe and Welcoming for Women draws on academic studies, informal surveys, news articles, and interviews with activists to explore the practice's definition and prevalence, the societal contexts in which it occurs, and the role of factors such as race and sexual orientation. Perhaps more crucially, the book makes clear how women experience street harassment--how they feel about and respond to it--and the ways it negatively impacts lives. But understanding is only a beginning. In the second half of the book, readers will find concrete strategies for dealing with street harassers and ways to become involved in working to end this all-too-common violation. Educators, counselors, parents, and other concerned individuals will discover resources for teaching about harassment and modeling behavior that will help prevent harassment incidents. Compelling anecdotes pulled from hundreds of women's stories that detail what harassment they have experienced, how it makes them feel, and how it impacts their lives Groundbreaking information from surveys conducted around the world detailing the number of women who experience street harassment, how often, and in what forms Suggestions for numerous, concrete actions women and men can take to stop street harassment and information on over 20 anti-street-harassment initiatives now underway Interviews with community activists to inspire readers to take action A companion website, www.stopstreetharassment.com, features the results of two surveys conducted by the author and a presentation of myths vs. facts about street harassment
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780313384967
Publication Date: 2010
That's What She Said: What Men Need To Know (And Women Need To Tell Them) about Working Together by Joanne Lipman First things first: There will be no man shaming in That's What She Said. A recent Harvard study found that corporate "diversity training" has actually made the gender gap worse--in part because it makes men feel demonized. Women, meanwhile, have been told closing the gender gap is up to them: they need to speak up, to be more confident, to demand to be paid what they're worth. They discuss these issues amongst themselves all the time.  What they don't do is talk to men about it.  It's time to end that disconnect. More people in leadership roles are genuinely trying to transform the way we work together, because there's abundant evidence that companies with more women in senior leadership perform better by virtually every measure. Yet despite good intentions, men often lack the tools they need, leading to fumbles, missteps, frustration and misunderstanding that continue to inflict real and lasting damage on women's careers. That's What She Said solves for that dilemma.  Filled with illuminating anecdotes, data from the most recent studies, and stories from Joanne Lipman's own journey to the top of a male-dominated industry, it shows how we can win by reaching across the gender divide. What can the Enron scandal teach us about the way men and women communicate professionally? How does brain chemistry help explain men's fear of women's emotions at work? Why did Kimberly Clark have an all-male team of executives in charge of their Kotex tampon line? What can we learn from Iceland's campaign to "feminize" an entire nation? That's What She Said shows why empowering women as true equals is an essential goal for women and men--and offers a roadmap for getting there. That's What She Said solves for: ·         The respect gap ·         Unconscious bias ·         Interruptions ·         The pay and promotion gap ·         Being heard ·         The motherhood penalty ·         "Bropropriation" and "mansplaining" ·         And more....    
Call Number: HD6060.6 .L576 2018
ISBN: 9780062437211
Publication Date: 2018

Databases

For additional databases and a list of key journals in the field of Women, Gender, & Sexuality Studies, please visit the Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies Program - Oakland Campus course guide. Non-Pitt affiliated individuals are welcome to use these resources in-house with a guest log-in. Please stop by our Information Desk on the 1st floor for assistance.

Black Women in America This link opens in a new window
In nearly 600 entries, Black Women in America celebrates the remarkable achievements of black women throughout history, highlights their ongoing contributions in America today, and represents the new research the first edition helped to generate, provided coverage for an underrepresented field in Women’s Studies. The Encyclopedia provides an overview of black women’s contributions throughout history and includes entries on contemporary women of note.
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch contains archival material, in some cases as far back as the 1970's with additional archival material continually added.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History This link opens in a new window
Women in World History contains over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access to over 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts This link opens in a new window
SWGA is an international abstracting database covering key areas of women’s and gender studies.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Women's Resources International is a composite of nine contributing databases covering women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused scholarship from throughout the world.
Women’s Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of leading women’s interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Includes Better Homes and Gardens, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Redbook, Seventeen, Woman's Day, and more.

Articles

This select list includes articles available freely online and through the library's databases.

Adversarial Sexual Attitudes Toward Women: The Relationships with Gender and Traditionalism
Emmers-Sommer, T. (2014). Adversarial sexual attitudes toward women: The relationships with gender and traditionalism. Sexuality & Culture, 18(4), 804–817. https://doi.org/10.1007/s12119-014-9222-9
The End of the Gender Revolution? Gender Role Attitudes from 1977 to 2008
Cotter, D., Hermsen, J., & Vanneman, R. (2011). The end of the gender revolution? Gender role attitudes from 1977 to 2008. American Journal of Sociology, 117(1), 259–289. https://doi.org/10.1086/658853
Experiencing the Streets: Harassment and Perceptions of Safety among Women
Macmillan, R., Nierobisz, A., & Welsh, S. (2000). Experiencing the streets: Harassment and perceptions of safety among women. The Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency, 37(3), 306–322. https://doi.org/10.1177/0022427800037003003
Gender Stereotypes Set in Early; By 6, Girls No Longer Think They're As Smart As Boys -- A Major Shift from Their Beliefs at Age 5, Study Finds
Khan, A. (2017, Feb 06). Science File; gender stereotypes set in early; by 6, girls no longer think they're as smart as boys -- a major shift from their beliefs at age 5, study finds. Los Angeles Times
Gender Stereotyping and Harassment: A "Catch-22" for Women in the Workplace
Leskinen, R. (2015). Gender stereotyping and harassment: A “catch-22” for women in the workplace. Psychology, Public Policy, and Law, 21(2), 192–204. https://doi.org/10.1037/law0000040
Harassment in Public Spaces: The Intrusion on Personal Space
Baptist, J., & Coburn, K. (2019). Harassment in public spaces: The intrusion on personal space. Journal of Feminist Family Therapy, 31(2-3), 114–128. https://doi.org/10.1080/08952833.2019.1634178
Men in Female-Dominated Vocations: a Rationale for Academic Study and Introduction to the Special Issue
Shen-Miller, D., & Smiler, A. (2015). Men in female-dominated vocations: A rationale for academic study and introduction to the special issue. Sex Roles, 72(7), 269–276. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11199-015-0471-3
Men's Lib!
Reeves, R. V., & Sawhill, I. V. (2015, Nov 15). Men's lib!: [op-ed]. New York Times
Sexual Identity and Attitudes About Gender Roles
Kowalski, B. M., & Scheitle, C. P. (2020). Sexual identity and attitudes about gender roles. Sexuality & Culture, 24(3), 671–691. https://doi.org/10.1007/s12119-019-09655-x
What's Your Type? How Gender Stereotypes Affect Kids Today
What’s your type? How gender stereotypes affect kids today. (2000, March 2). New York Amsterdam News, 91(9), 20.
Workplace Gender Bias: Not Just Between Strangers
Nadler, J. T., & Stockdale, M. S. (2012). Workplace gender bias: Not just between strangers. North American Journal of Psychology, 14(2), 281-291.

American Association of University Women
"Though we are nonpartisan, we are not values-neutral: We fight to remove the barriers and biases that stand in the way of gender equity." This site includes Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Resources.
ACLU - Women's Rights
Today, gender bias continues to create huge barriers for many women. Ongoing struggles include ensuring equal economic opportunities, educational equity, and an end to gender-based violence.
A Call to Men
Includes educational resources to help you practice and promote healthy manhood in your community.
Everyday Feminism
Everyday Feminism is an educational platform that aims to shift our culture to end the everyday violence, discrimination, and marginalization that people face due to their gender, sexual orientation, race, class, size, ability, and other social differences.
Gender Bias Learning Project
"The Center for WorkLife Law [at UC Hastings College of the Law], with support from a NSF ADVANCE leadership grant, has developed this on-line gender bias training that teaches you to identify the four basic patterns of gender bias...."
HeForShe
HeForShe is a solidarity movement for the advancement of gender equality, initiated by the United Nations.
National Organization for Men Against Sexism
The National Organization for Men Against Sexism is an activist organization of men and women supporting positive changes for men. NOMAS advocates a perspective that is pro-feminist, gay affirmative, anti-racist, dedicated to enhancing men’s lives, and committed to justice on a broad range of social issues including class, age, religion, and physical abilities.
National Organization for Women
As the grassroots arm of the women’s movement, the National Organization for Women is dedicated to its multi-issue and multi-strategy approach to women’s rights, and is the largest organization of feminist grassroots activists in the United States.
National Women's Studies Association
Established in 1977, the National Women's Studies Association has as one of its primary objectives promoting and supporting the production and dissemination of knowledge about women and gender through teaching, learning, research and service in academic and other settings.
Understanding Non-Binary People: How to Be Respectful and Supportive
From the National Center for Transgender Equality website.
9 Young People Explain What Being Non-binary Means to Them
This post is from GLAAD's digital series, "amp."

Owen Library's Video Collection of Films and Documentaries

Pitt-affiliated individuals may borrow DVDs for a 2-week loan period.

Battle of The Sexes by Jonathan Dayton In the wake of the sexual revolution and the rise of the women's movement, the 1973 tennis match between women's world champion Billie Jean King and ex-men's-champ and serial hustler Bobby Riggs became one of the most watched televised sports events of all time, reaching 90 million viewers around the world. As the rivalry between King and Riggs kicked into high gear, off-court each was fighting more personal and complex battles.
Call Number: Videos PN1997 .B388 2017
Iron Jawed Angels by Katja von Garnier The dramatized story of Alice Paul and Lucy Burns, leaders of the suffragist women who fought for the passage of the 19th Amendment. They broke from the mainstream women's rights movement to create a more activist wing, daring to push the boundaries to secure women's voting rights in 1920.
Call Number: Videos PN1997 .I76 2004
Makers: Women Who Make America by Barak Goodman and Pamela Mason Wagner Reviews the story of how women have helped shape America over the last fifty years through one of the most sweeping social revolutions in American history, in pursuit of their rights to a full and fair share of political power, economic opportunity, and personal autonomy.
Call Number: Videos HQ1391.U5 M35 2013
My Whole Self by Barbara J. Diamond My Whole Self is a documentary on microaggressions and gender and intersectionality. It explores the subtle forms of gender bias experienced by women across lines of difference.
Call Number: online video
On the Basis of Sex by Mimi Leder Inspired by the powerful true story of a young Ruth Bader Ginsburg, On the Basis of Sex depicts a then-struggling attorney and new mother facing adversity in her fight for equal rights. When Ruth takes on a ground-breaking case, she knows the outcome could alter the courts' view of gender discrimination. Stronger together, Ruth teams up with her husband, Martin Ginsburg, to fight the case that catapults her into one of the most important public figures of our time.
Call Number: Videos PN1997 .O6 2019
Picture a Scientist by Sharon Shattuck and Ian Cheney This documentary provides a stark view of the STEM landscape as told by three women who have experienced the struggle for equity firsthand.
Call Number: online video
She Said by Maria Schrader New York Times reporters Megan Twohey and Jodi Kantor break one of the most important stories in a generation, a story that helped launch the #MeToo movement and shattered decades of silence around the subject of sexual assault in Hollywood.
Call Number: Videos PN1997 .S54 2023
Sisters of '77 by Allen Mondell and Cynthia Salzman Mondell Uses interviews and archival footage to examine the first National Women's Conference, held in Houston, TX in 1977, and the debates held there over issues including reproductive freedom, sexual preferences, and minority rights.
Call Number: Videos HQ1403.N34 S67 2005
Suffragette by Sarah Gavron Inspired by true events, a moving drama exploring the passion and heartbreak of the women who risked everything in their fight for equality in early 20th century Britain. The story centers on Maud, a working wife and mother whose life is forever changed when she is secretly recruited to join the U.K.'s growing suffragette movement. Galvanized by the outlaw fugitive Emmeline Pankhurst, Maud becomes an activist for the cause alongside women from all walks of life.
Call Number: Videos PN1997 .S84 2016
Tough Guise 2 : Violence, Manhood & American Culture by Jeremy Earp In this highly anticipated update of the influential and widely acclaimed Tough Guise, pioneering anti-violence educator and cultural theorist Jackson Katz argues that the ongoing epidemic of men's violence in America is rooted in our inability as a society to move beyond outmoded ideals of manhood. Tough Guise 2 stands to empower a new generation of young men - and women - to challenge the myth that being a real man means putting up a false front and engaging in violent and self-destructive behavior.
Call Number: Videos BF692.5 .T684 2013

For the TED Talks videos below, you may be provided a list of more resources on the speaker's topic by hovering over the video and clicking on the TED logo.