Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Suggested Reading - Primary Works
Abraham Ortelius & Asiae Nova Descripti
"Asiae Nova Descripti" in Theatrum Orbis Terrarum, Abraham Ortelius, 1592.
Ortelius, Abraham, (1527-1598), cartographer and geographer. “Asiae Nova Descripti.” In Theatrum Orbis Terrarum. Opus nunc denuòab ipso Auctore recognitum, multisquèlocis castigatum & quamplurimis nouis Tabulis atquèCommentarijs auctum. [Antverpiae, in officina Plantiniana, auctoris aere & cura, M.D.XCII]. Illustrated with one-hundred-thirty-four maps, 45 cm.University Library System -Archives & Special Collections -ff 1592
Visiting Archives & Special Collections
Archives & Special Collections is the location for archival and manuscript collections, collected works of art and ephemera, atlases, books, maps, photographs, and rare materials that date from the 14th century to the present at the University of Pittsburgh.
Researchers interested in visiting Archives & Special Collections at Hillman Library can learn more about our hours and policies below:
Frequently Asked Questions
ULS Digital Resources
Darlington Digital Library
The Darlington Digital Library contains atlases, books, broadsides, engravings, manuscripts, maps, photographs, and artwork. The collection was assembled by the Pittsburgh attorney William M. Darlington during the nineteenth century and gifted to the University of Pittsburgh by his children in 1918 and 1925.
Digital Resources for the Silk Road
The International Dunhuang Project: The Silk Road Online
IDP is a ground-breaking international collaboration to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artefacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet and to encourage their use through educational and research programmes.
The P.Y. and Kinmay W. Tang Center for Silk Road Studies
The P.Y. and Kinmay W. Tang Center for Silk Road Studies (TCSRS) was established in 2017 under the auspices of the Institute of East Asian Studies at the University of California, Berkeley, to advance research and teaching on the historical overland and maritime exchange networks commonly referred to as the Silk Roads.
Suggested Reading - Secondary Works