Guides: University of Pittsburgh Stages 2017-2018 Season: Mainstage: Statistics and Research on Gun Violence

Books

Using published reviews from both Booklist and Choice, along with suggested titles from other sources, we have compiled an OCLC Worldcat list on Gun control. Those titles on the list with reviews in those two sources are so indicated; the other material has not been consulted but has been included based on publisher description and currency. The list includes titles intended for high school and older.

Entries link to the WorldCat record for the print title in most cases.

Search terms that might be used in local catalogs include:

Arms sales
Assault weapons--Law and legislation
Concealed carry of firearms
Concealed carry of firearms--Law and legislation
Firearms
Firearms and crime--United States
Firearms--Law and legislation
Firearms ownership
Gun control--United States
Mass shootings
School shootings
United States. Constitution. 2nd Amendment
Violent crimes

Gun and Firearms in American Society
Recent titles on gun control and firearns. List created in 2017.

Page Content

Content for this page was taken from ALA librarian Rebecca Gerber's guide on Gun Violence and Libraries.

Databases

These databases contain indexed content would includes firearms issues.

Congressional (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information from Congressional Information Services. Includes access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, information about current members of Congress, and much more.

Includes U.S. Bills and Resolutions: 1789 - 2022
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher, founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, is your complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. The objective, forward-looking reporting that characterizes these articles is designed to encourage discussion, to help readers think critically and to facilitate further research. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text’s coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX is a comprehensive sociology database featuring citations with subject headings from a sociology specific thesaurus. It contains informative abstracts for more than 590 core journals dating back to 1985.

Some search terms to try when searching databases for this topic:

Assault weapons
Background checks
Concealed carry laws
Federal Assault Weapon Ban
Firearm background checks
Firearm legislation
Firearms
Firearms and crime
Firearms ownership -- United States
Gun control
Gun control policy
Gun rights
Gun violence
Handgun control
School shootings
Second amendment rights
Stand Your Ground

Congressional Research Service reports

Federal Assault Weapons Ban: Legal Issues
Prepared for the 113th Congress, February 14, 2013. (PDF, 17 pages)
Gun Control: Federal Law and Legislative Action in the 114th Congress
Background material for the 114th Congress debating gun proposals following two high-fatality mass shootings, dated April 19, 2017.. (PDF, 41 pages)
Guns, Excise Taxes, and Wildlife Restoration
Prepared March 12, 2013 (PDF, 6 pages)
Gun Control, Mental Incompetency, and Social Security Administration Final Rule
Prepared February 13, 2017 (PDF, 18 pages)
Mass Murder with Firearms: Incidents and Victims, 1999-2013
Prepared July 30, 2015 (PDF, 51 pages)
Public Mass Shootings in the United States: Selected Implications for Federal Public Health and Safety Policy
"This report focuses on mass shootings and selected implications they have for federal policy in the areas of public health and safety. While such crimes most directly impact particular citizens in very specific communities, addressing these violent episodes involves officials at all levels of government and professionals from numerous disciplines. This report does not discuss gun control and does not systematically address the broader issue of gun violence. Also, it is not intended as an exhaustive review of federal programs addressing the issue of mass shootings." However it is helpful for the actual incidents of mass shootings.
Congressional Authority to Regulate Firearms: A Legal Overview
Prepared April 5, 2013. (PDF, 17 pages)

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

University of Pittsburgh Stages 2017-2018 Season: Mainstage: Statistics and Research on Gun Violence

Books

Page Content

Databases

Congressional Research Service reports