Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Maps & Atlases @ Pitt Archives: Henry Clay Frick Business Records

Tips for using the maps and atlases available in Archives & Special Collections

Description

The Henry Clay Frick Business Records (AIS.2002.06) contain material reflecting the business and financial activities of Henry Clay Frick (1849-1919) of particular relevance to Pittsburgh and the western Pennsylvania region. Series XXVIII of this collection consists of maps and architectural drawings.

The buildings drawings and blueprints mainly pertain to Henry Clay Frick’s real estate in Pittsburgh and western Pennsylvania, including the Frick Building (1901-1902), Frick Building Annex (1905-1906), Union Arcade Building (1915-1917), William Penn Hotel (1914-1916) and the Highland Building (1909-1910). Drawings contain pre-construction plans, elevations, floor plans, alterations, and mechanical/electrical/HVAC/plumbing plans.

Many of the maps in the collection relate  to Frick's coal, coke, and steel manufacturing interests, while another major portion of records consists of material pertaining to the proposed Lake Erie to Ohio River Canal route.

Series XXVII (Pittsburgh Atlases and Plat Maps, 1889-1923) includes G. M. Hopkins Plat maps as well as Rand, McNally & Company atlases for the City of Pittsburgh and the surrounding communities. Some of the Hopkins maps are available online on the Historic Pittsburgh website.

For more information, click here to contact us.

William Penn Hotel

Photo from William Penn Hotel Construction Progress Photograph Collection, 1914-1916, AIS.2008.01
Archives & Special Collections, University of Pittsburgh Library System.