Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Maps & Atlases @ Pitt Archives: AIS Assorted Maps & Atlases

Tips for using the maps and atlases available in Archives & Special Collections

Description

The Archives of Industrial Society (AIS) Assorted Maps and Atlases Collection (AIS.Maps) contains the various maps and atlases maintained by the Archives & Special Collections that are not associated with any other collection. The maps primarily cover Pittsburgh, Allegheny County and the southwestern Pennsylvania region and include, but are not limited to, maps of highways, boroughs, townships, counties, zoning districts, election districts, census tracts and property lots. Also included are a set of aerial photographs of the City of Pittsburgh.

The atlases include Sanborn maps, Hopkins plat books, atlases of the City of Pittsburgh and environs and of counties in Pennsylvania. Digital reproductions of some of the maps are available online through the Finding Aid for the collection. Note that the Historic Pittsburgh website provides online access to all of the published Hopkins plates for the City of Pittsburgh and environs, including Allegheny City.

For more information, click here to contact us.

Homestead District

Homestead district map, ca. 1937
Map-case 8-13, Folder 3
Archives of Industrial Society (AIS) Assorted Maps and Atlases, 1830-1990, AIS.Maps, Archives & Special Collections, University of Pittsburgh Library System

Smithfield Farm

Plan of lots on Smithfield Farm, Pitt Township, on Pennsylvania Avenue, ca. 1860
Map-case 8-12, Folder 8
Archives of Industrial Society (AIS) Assorted Maps and Atlases, 1830-1990, AIS.Maps, Archives & Special Collections, University of Pittsburgh Library System