Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Maps & Atlases @ Pitt Archives: CONSOL Energy Inc.

Tips for using the maps and atlases available in Archives & Special Collections

Southwestern Pennsylvania

The CONSOL Energy Inc. Mine Maps and Records Collection (AIS.1991.16) contains maps and technical drawings relating primarily to the southwestern Pennsylvania mining activities of CONSOL Energy, Inc. and its primary predecessors, Pittsburgh Coal Company and Consolidation Coal Company.

Additionally, there are property maps, plans of lots and drawings of other surface features, as well as plans of structures related to mines owned and operated by CONSOL Energy and its partnering companies. There are also atlases, maps and technical drawings produced in conjunction with or to be used with the mine maps.

Digital reproductions of the mine maps are available from the California District Mining Office of the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection and/or the National Mine Map Repository at the the U. S. Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement's facility in Greentree. More detailed information about this collection and digital reproductions of some of the maps are available online through our Finding Aid.

For more information, click here to contact us.

Cincinnati Mine

West Virginia and Eastern Ohio

The CONSOL Energy Inc. West Virginia and Eastern Ohio Mine Maps and Records Collection (AIS.2004.22) contains maps and technical drawings relating primarily to the West Virginia and eastern Ohio mining activities of CONSOL Energy, Inc. and its primary predecessors, Pittsburgh Coal Company and Consolidation Coal Company.

Additionally, there are property maps, plans of lots and drawings of other surface features, as well as plans of structures related to mines owned and operated by CONSOL Energy and its partnering companies. There are also atlases, maps and technical drawings produced in conjunction with or to be used with the mine maps.

Digital reproductions of the mine maps are available from the National Mine Map Repository at the U. S. Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement's facility in Greentree and/or the West Virginia Mine Map Archives. More detailed information about this collection is available online in our Finding Aid.

For more information, click here to contact us.

Ireland Mine